Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was my first time cooking a turkey. I followed the directions exactly as recipe called for and it came out perfect! So juicy and flavorful. Love the video instructions too, huge help for a novice like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bezue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Winner, winner turkey dinner!!!!! This was soooo easy and came out perfect. The meat fell off the bones and was so moist and flavorful. I always thought turkey was like pizza: there's really no such thing as "bad" turkey, as it's easy enough to camouflage any shortcomings with gravy and sides. But with this recipe I'll never suffer a mediocre bird again. I cut back on the celery and carrots so I could include a huge Fuji apple, thickly sliced. Also, as I've had some issues with turkeys cooking fully the past few years, I cooked mine at 425 for 30 minutes then reduced to 335 for the remaining 3 hours for a 14# bird (I looked at a lot of recipes/tutorials and about half suggested roasting at 350 vs. 325, so I split the difference). I didn't make the gravy, but dumped everything left in the roaster pan into my stockpot with the turkey carcass to boil down for stock. Definitely give this one a try - even if you don't have fresh herbs for the cavity it won't disappoint!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Chef John is a culinary genius! This turkey was incredibly moist! My husband just raved! He said it was the BEST turkey he has ever had the pleasure of eating!!!! I also made Chef Johns mashed potatoes and they were so incredibly good!!! Thank you Chef John for a great feast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is the best. You will finally have juicy turkey on thanksgiving without the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is the best turkey I've ever eaten. Very Moist. And the Gravy is from another planet awesome! I'm now the family Turkey cook because of this recipe. Thanks John :) I followed it to spec and it is amazing. Will never do other recipes. There simply is no better Herb Butter under skin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny Green
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe two years in a row and both times it came out amazing. Such a simple but great recipe. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Absolutely fantastic. Thanks for the easy to follow recipe and the video made it tenfold easier. My family loved it and thought it tasted like chicken, that's how moist it was!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Moistest turkey I've ever made...followed the recipe as wrote and it was fantastic! *****'s for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is the best turkey recipe ever! This required no modifications. The seasoning was perfect, the skin was crisp to perfection, and the meat was moist! This is my go to turkey recipe and I will not ever look for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was amazing! The turkey was moist and FULL of flavor. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly! This was my first Christmas turkey and we will definitely be repeating this next year and throughout the year. I used my food processor to quickly chop the veggies and it really cut down on the prep time. I also did them in advance to save time on the busy holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States