Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Best Turkey I ever had on Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSgoatfarmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Morland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Turned out great! The turkey was moist, the spices and herbs added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe to follow for our second baked turkey. Didn't add the vegetables to the inside of the turkey, just the spices. Otherwise baked the turkey as directed. For the gravy, we didn't follow the directions at all, just the ingredients (minus basalmic vinegar). We ended up needing a lot more flour than stated to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
After following the steps of this recipe, I kept the turkey in the fridge overnight and cooked it for 3 hours. This was my first Thanksgiving turkey.....I never liked turkey before. My family was so impressed and they all gave 5 stars for approval rating goodness!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JsS
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was my 1st turkey ever! Thank you Chef John it was a huge hit everyone was doubting I can do it I was being a chicken haha (inside video joke) but you made it easy and gave the confidence BUT I had major fail with the gravy my Butter ball turkey didn't drip a lot of fat so I sent my sister in law to buy can gravy and used the broth from the neck and heart that I had boiling and added it to my turkey. It came out moist and delicious. Oh I added the new a back in to the turkey my mom was happy about that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This year was the first year my husband and I hosted Thanksgiving dinner for the fam- and our first time cooking a turkey. We followed this recipe and the turkey was fantastic! The leftovers are really good too :) Thank you Chef John for another great recipe... I love it when you make me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe is super easy to follow...great for a novice or an experienced cook. The fresh herbs smelled so wonderful and the turkey was delicious. I also used the "under the skin" butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Turkey came out great, juicy and delish...Thanks Chef John for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used this recipe last year for my first time hosting Thanksgiving and making a turkey. I couldn't believe how easy this recipe was for the juicy and delicious turkey it produced! This will be my go-to recipe every year moving forward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Did everything except I like stuffing in my turkey and I use slivers of my garlic cloves poked into the meat. The butter under the skin trick was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States