Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Moistest turkey I've ever made...followed the recipe as wrote and it was fantastic! *****'s for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is the best turkey recipe ever! This required no modifications. The seasoning was perfect, the skin was crisp to perfection, and the meat was moist! This is my go to turkey recipe and I will not ever look for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was amazing! The turkey was moist and FULL of flavor. The aroma in the kitchen was heavenly! This was my first Christmas turkey and we will definitely be repeating this next year and throughout the year. I used my food processor to quickly chop the veggies and it really cut down on the prep time. I also did them in advance to save time on the busy holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the second time I cooked turkey for Christmas in my life and it came out perfectly. I didn't have the rosemary and sage and no thread. I put the onions. carrots and celeries instead and it still so good. It's very juicy and tender. Thank you so much to put this out here so that a person like me who never cooked turkey before CAN COOK it. Suteera_BKK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving 2013. I've never made a turkey before. However, Chef John's recipe was the BEST! I received a lot of compliments and I for the first time actually enjoyed eating the turkey because it was soo moist and flavorful. The only did one thing different from the recipe...I injected my turkey the night before I cooked it with seasonings. Other than that the gravy recipe and turkey were on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Used this recipe twice now. Juiciest turkey ever made. Absolutely love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Yum. We didn't follow the gravy recipe, but the turkey was something special. Best turkey in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe would get ten stars from me if I could! I hosted a "Friendsgiving" the weekend after Thanksgiving so I was in charge of the turkey. We had 17 people coming for dinner and I was pretty nervous about making sure it was perfect. I had a 22.5lb bird and followed the recipe exactly. The turkey was picture perfect when it came out of the oven! We did end up letting it rest for about 45 minutes because some of the guests were a bit late. When my husband carved into it, the juices were flowing and it was falling apart to the point where he had a hard time getting it on the serving platter! The only thing that didn't turn out for me was the gravy. I'm not sure what I did wrong but it never thickened up. That was ok because the turkey was so good it didn't need any gravy! I will also admit that the turkey was brined over night in a salt/veggie broth/rosemary/sage/poultry seasoning mixture. I would definitely suggest this recipe to anyone who is a first time turkey cooker! Oh and watch Chef John's video too. The spatula technique he uses to get the butter under the skin was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I will never use any other receipe. This turkey was the best turkey I ever had. sooooo moist! I made the stuffing seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Thank you for giving me the confidence to make my first turkey gravy after years for using the packaged mixes. You made it seem so easy. And it was! My gravy came out so flavorful that I did not feel the balsamic was necessary this time but I might try it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States