Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Thank you Chef John, what a great and relatively easy recipe. The turkey and gravy were AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The vegetable mixture, herbs and spices combined with lots of butter made this the best turkey I've ever made. I'll use this recipe again. Very "Chef-y." Did not make the gravy due to the fact I could not find the bag of giblets. (I DID find the bag after I carved the turkey.) Maybe next time, Chef John. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Although I am not much of a cook, this recipe is virtually foolproof! It was perhaps the most tender and moist bird that I have ever cooked. It was also the first time that I used a meat thermometer, so that could have helped too. I think that I made a mistake on the gravy, but it was still very good. Thank you for this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Sauté onions and mushrooms before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Turkey was great and moist- It was my first turkey ever so I was very happy it turned out ok, but I would not add balsamic vinegar to the gravy next time. I did not care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
A nice basic formula for cooking a turkey. The herb and seasoning choices are very good. The two key things to take away from this recipe is spreading the butter under the breast skin and putting foil on the breast in the beginning. This makes a juicy and moist breast. This was the first time I cooked a turkey and the breast meat was moist. The celery carrot and onion is a nice touch. I feel compelled to add potatoes. Like chef John says the possibilities are endless, experiment with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
juicy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Our family ruled this the best turkey we've ever made! The turkey was moist and the homemade gravy turned out. We enjoyed it so much at Thanksgiving, we made it again for Christmas Eve. There's a lot of seasoning, so we sprinkled the turkey nicely and had quite a bit left over. I saved that for the next time we bake a chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the second time I am making the turkey. One was made for the saturday after thanksgiving, which came out great and the next one was made today. I used all of the ingredients with only one addition to the herb butter, garlic. Just used a small amount. The presentation of the bird is wonderful! the flavors were fantastic and it was so very moist and tender! The steps from the video were spot on and very helpful. Can't wait to try more Chef John recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States