Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Although I am not much of a cook, this recipe is virtually foolproof! It was perhaps the most tender and moist bird that I have ever cooked. It was also the first time that I used a meat thermometer, so that could have helped too. I think that I made a mistake on the gravy, but it was still very good. Thank you for this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Sauté onions and mushrooms before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Turkey was great and moist- It was my first turkey ever so I was very happy it turned out ok, but I would not add balsamic vinegar to the gravy next time. I did not care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
A nice basic formula for cooking a turkey. The herb and seasoning choices are very good. The two key things to take away from this recipe is spreading the butter under the breast skin and putting foil on the breast in the beginning. This makes a juicy and moist breast. This was the first time I cooked a turkey and the breast meat was moist. The celery carrot and onion is a nice touch. I feel compelled to add potatoes. Like chef John says the possibilities are endless, experiment with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
juicy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Our family ruled this the best turkey we've ever made! The turkey was moist and the homemade gravy turned out. We enjoyed it so much at Thanksgiving, we made it again for Christmas Eve. There's a lot of seasoning, so we sprinkled the turkey nicely and had quite a bit left over. I saved that for the next time we bake a chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the second time I am making the turkey. One was made for the saturday after thanksgiving, which came out great and the next one was made today. I used all of the ingredients with only one addition to the herb butter, garlic. Just used a small amount. The presentation of the bird is wonderful! the flavors were fantastic and it was so very moist and tender! The steps from the video were spot on and very helpful. Can't wait to try more Chef John recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I'm a novice home cook and this was my first Christmas turkey. It was easy, fun, and the most delicious turkey I have ever tasted. The breast meat was juicy and the fresh herbs made the house smell fantastic for many hours. Can't wait for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
wow...that was excellent. for cravy I added 1 Tsp of cornstarch to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States