Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just like John said...I was too afraid to cook a turkey, I was chicken! I have now cooked this at least 5 times and it is outstanding! Don't even bother reading any other recipes, this is the one. Several times I have stuffed my turkey with stuffing while following this recipe and it still comes out flawless. Chef John is the best! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasTon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Outstanding but used more that the 2 Tbs of butter mixture under the skin. That's the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Fantastic! This was my first roast turkey and it came out amazing. Like all recipes I tweaked a bit to suit my tastes, but it was so moist and flavorful. I am on a low sodium diet, so I cut down on some of the salt, but it was still fantastic. My wife said it was the best turkey she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vio
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Sooo juicy!! Thanks for an awesome KISS recipe! I can't believe my first turkey ever came out sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The turkey came out moist and had nice flavor. Nothing spectacular, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved it! I will definatly use this again and again. As a matter of fact I've already done the same thing to a whole roaster chicken and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I made and loved it. My family said it was the best! Lots of flavor and very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Here's another thumbs up for this recipe and Chef John! This was very easy and the turkey was perfect, very moist and great flavors. Slow roasting is the key - and butter, of course - lots of butter. The foil shield for the first couple of hours was also a big help. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was my first turkey EVER and it was so very moist and delicious. I don't usually like turkey and avoided making it for years and years (purchased, did other forms of poultry, skipped the holiday table and went to the beach). But, when my in-laws decided that my house was the house, I turned to Chef John and we delivered! I never used so much butter in my life - but it make the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States