Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. After reading several reviews, i decided to make these meatballs. I fried my meatballs in the pan as recommended. Mine did not stick to the pan as some reviewers mentioned, and i believe that is because i had a hot pan with oil ready. They browned very nicely. Most importantly, as one reviewer stated, make sure that you are only putting 1 cup of the ricotta. The containers never come in 1 cup but 1.5 or more. I measured mine and that is why my meatballs were not falling apart. They retained their shape nicely. Do not crowd the meatballs in the pan. I worked in batches and once all browned i put them back in the pan. For breadcrumbs, i used seasoned Panko which is what i had on hand, and they worked great. Nice and light. Hope you enjoy! (they were a big hit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is unbelievably delicious! I followed the recipe and it was pretty easy! I started to get worried because the meatballs do start to fall apart in the pan but I'd say 80% held their shape. It was no big deal because it was like adding meat to my husbands homemade marinara. I can easily say these were the best meatballs I've ever had, let alone made! We are a huge fan of Chef John and his awesome videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a banging red sauce and these meat balls are very much worthy of said sauce. I baked rather then pan fry. I roasted my spaghetti squash on the same baking sheet as the meatballs. Both were done in the same cooking time on 400 degrees, on the center rack. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet, no stick no fuss no muss. When the squash was tender the balls were cooked through. I turned the balls once during cooking. I didn't cook the onion and garlic before hand, I was being a lazy cook and just chopped them fine and added to the meat mixture, along with fresh dried basil, and sage, as well as fennel seed. Because we prefer larger meatballs I made mine just a bit bigger then golf balls. I got 10 meat balls, just perfect for us. My sauce and this meat ball recipe were meant to be together and I know have a killer use every time meat ball recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is now one of my favorite recipe.It is easy and quickly prepared.Its really very tasty .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by byGilles

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Yum! Made these almost as written, except I had to substitute the bread crumbs for panko flakes because that's all I had. I used the course flakes, which I think worked well. The meatballs were light, tasty and delicious! A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this exactly as written except substituted crackers for the bread crumbs, only because I didn't have them on hand. Also, I baked them in a 425 F degree oven for 20-25 mins on a cookie sheet covered in aluminum foil and sprayed with canola oil. They are amazing so tender and moist! I made a double batch, the first night served with spaghetti, and the second night on toasted sub sandwiches with mozzarella, they are even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leresis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These are delicious! For those who complained about the meatballs being too fragile, make sure you are actually following the recipe's measurements. Ricotta cheese sold in the small containers contains more than one cup. If you use too much ricotta, of course the meatballs won't hold together that well. (They'll still taste great, though.) So make sure you are measuring and not just dumping in the whole container as I suspect some people might have done. Another winner from Chef John - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are so soft and cheesy! I did not cook them as the recipe states though, just stuck to my normal, which is roll into balls place on a greased baking rack (over a baking sheet) and baked 25 minutes at 350. Delicious :) Served over Zucchini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pris
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I accidentally forgot the egg and it still turned out great! Use crushed red peppers instead of cayenne. I also didn't cook the meatballs in oil. Just used a nonstick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Made these just as written and would not change a thing. So moist, tender and flavorful...a new favorite and a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Savory Ricotta Tart

A super-simple savory tart loaded with herby, cheesy flavor.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States