Chef John's Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Very very good. Also used 2 tbsp. of flour to make the cake less runny. Add ice cream - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaclynHeming
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Yum! Delicious! Love the lemon zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Why is it so runny? There is no thickener in the fruit that's why. Needs cornstarch or flour to thicken. I have a delicious crisp topping on a pan of juice. Ice cream topping I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
DELICIOUS - but watery . Just needs a bit of flour in the filling mixture to make it a sweet, tangy, easy new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, and I was curious because I have made other rhubarb crisp recipes before that add flour to the rhubarb to thicken it. This recipe did not add flour, and the results were awful. It is rhubarb soup with soggy oatmeal on top. We each ate a scoop over ice cream. Adding a few tablespoons of flour to the rhubarb will allow it to thicken, creating more of a "crisp" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Best rhubarb crisp recipe I've come across!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a great quick dessert that everyone loves especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream YUM-O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Niziol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I had never made rhubarb, and this was a hit! I will say this--for the past year or so, I've made many, many Chef John recipes though, and he has yet to make a recipe I didn't truly like. But regardless, a tasty, different sort of dessert. The strawberries add a nice softer element to the flavor. The biggest challenge was finding rhubarb at my local markets! Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Absolutely perfect! I just keep eating and eating… can't stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States