Chef John's Raw Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Nice enough, but my family found the flavor a bit strong, so we didn't really enjoy it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
We loved this! Maybe it was because we had especially fresh and delicious ingredients, but my husband said it was one of the best salads he'd ever had. I used raw walnuts instead of pistachios, left off persimmon, used 1 regular orange and one blood orange, pink lady apple. Also used less olive oil and a touch more Dijon, red pepper and vinegar in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
not normally a huge kale guy but this salad is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Doing a chiffonade with the kale is brilliant. It's an excellent way to bring this springy green under control. The dressing is delicious, and my only change was to use seasoned rice vinegar. It was light, citrusy, and perfect with the fruit. Pistachio nuts were a nice touch, too. I didn't have any persimmon, but the salad was very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great taste, evens out the bitterness in the kale! I have been looking for new kale options for awhile now and this was a winner, even with my four yr old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great salad and great way to eat kale! I was hesitant about a raw kale salad with very little else it in, but it was really good. The fruit really balanced out the kale, and it made for a very refreshing summer salad. The only thing I would omit next time is the crushed red pepper flakes. I thought the spiciness seemed a little out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The family loved this! Didn't have oranges, so I substituted Clementines and minneola. Omitted the persimmon (out of season), but can't wait to be able to use it. In spite of the subs, still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Mmmm, loved this! Really enjoyed finding a recipe for raw kale. This was SO good and hubby even enjoyed it. Cumin gave it a unique flavor. I reduced the oil a bit and it was plenty. Didn't have persimmon, so I left it out and subbed pecans for the pistachios since that's what I had on hand. Walnuts would've been good too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I just made this for my VERY VERY VERY picky salad eating husband...(he is wonderful in many other ways though:-)) He said, "I would definitely eat this again." Score! He will not eat any fruit in his salads so this was huge. I too used the Muscat Vinegar from TJ's: half of this and 1/2 rice vinegar. Toasted some almonds..yummy. Thanks for this recipe! It's difficult to find ways to use kale so this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a delicious way to prepare Kale, which I normally just bake into chips. I didn't have orange juice or orange zest so I substituted grapefruit juice and lemon juice (instead of the zest). I also used almonds instead of the pistachios but next time I would used chopped pistachios, I think they would go well with the flavors. I also let the salad sit without the apples for 5 hours. The kale softened and the flavors deepened. I added the apple at the end. Would be a great dinner salad if you added some grilled chicken, preferably marinated with similar Middle Eastern or Indian flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States