Chef John's Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Everything Chef John makes is awesome and this is really really great as well love this recipe will never eat bottled dressing again and my grandson is only 3yrs old and he will not eat Hidden Valley Ranch he wants grandma's salad dressing I thought it was weird he is 3 so I did a test and he knew so yes even a 3yr old can tell the difference so great job Chef John love your recipe's please keep posting them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was really good. I only let it sit for about 3 hours and it was already pretty thick by then. I added another splash of buttermilk and it was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I, being not American, may not be an expert on Ranch Dressings, but I loved this one! Great balance between mayonnaise, sour cream and butter milk. Better with fresh dill and parsley, but I also made it with all drier ingredients, and so long as you let it stand over night, it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I had to use dry spices in this recipe, I adjusted accordingly. I did increase the dill weed, onion powder and garlic powder--besides that, I made no other changes. This was the dressing for tonight's broccoli salad. The consistancy was perfect, it was just what I needed. Very good. It's hard to mess up ranch dressing, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have to admit that I've been making homemade ranch dressing for many years, and this one is at least as good, if not better (don't tell anyone!), than mine! I love the 2 drops addition of worcestershire sauce and the fresh chives. By the way, Chef J, are you sure that most cowboys are vegetarian? I live in Texas and know a lot of cowboys-but it makes for a great story!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made exactly as listed. Too thick and tasted too much like mayo. Not like restaurant Ranch at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DelMarGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Love CJ, but this was just ok :-( I like a creamier Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelMarGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Blended everything except parsley in magic bullet. Added parsley (dried, will make again with fresh) and shook it in. Straight off the spoon it was great but I think for my taste I'll add half again of all herbs and spices except cayenne. We are not big on ranch but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I kept hoping that the flavors would develop in this but alas even after 72 hours, this still tasted like slightly flavored mayonnaise. I didn't have Italian parsley and used regular dried parsley flakes but I did use fresh tarragon and a lot of it and still there was no herb taste. Even my mayonnaise loving dh complained that this tasted like nothing but mayo. I ended up making up some dry ranch dressing mix from another AR recipe and adding it along with more sour cream. I hope that is tasty so I don't have to throw the whole thing out. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
It's a bit heavy on the mayo, but that's easily altered. Quite lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States