Chef John's Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We love this dressing. I've made it 3 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Fantastic! The perfect ranch dressing. I used fresh dill instead of dried and left out the tarragon because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
It's a bit heavy on the mayo, but that's easily altered. Quite lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I kept hoping that the flavors would develop in this but alas even after 72 hours, this still tasted like slightly flavored mayonnaise. I didn't have Italian parsley and used regular dried parsley flakes but I did use fresh tarragon and a lot of it and still there was no herb taste. Even my mayonnaise loving dh complained that this tasted like nothing but mayo. I ended up making up some dry ranch dressing mix from another AR recipe and adding it along with more sour cream. I hope that is tasty so I don't have to throw the whole thing out. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The consistency is more like that of a dip. It worked great for dipping veggies versus a dressing for salad! I did add a lil extra of some of the seasoning and such because the mayo taste was most prominent and I almost didn't like it, but let me tell ya it gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. Love chef john. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is my all time favorite Ranch! I didn't use the tarragon because I didn't have it on hand. I can't see how it could have made it any better. This recipe gets 12 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni72651

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This was really good and I thoroughly enjoyed! Thank you so much for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The best Ranch Dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
So easy to make and so good - I'll never buy jarred or bottled ranch dressing again! The only change I made was to use only 1 cup of mayo and substitute a little more sour cream and buttermilk to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Excellent! I've modified it a bit, to suit the family's tastes- dropped the tarragon altogether, more chives (dried) and MORE Italian parsley, plus more garlic and pepper, but it was a hit from the get-go! Thanks for a great recipe- I curtsy in your direction, good sir. I'm now forced to make a spaghetti-jar's worth every week, to keep up with demand, LOL! This is also my go-to for baked potatoes. Uber-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States