Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was my first attempt at Quiche Lorraine - after living in this region for a year back in my school days - did not disappoint! Was light and fluffy and full of flavor and looked beautiful! Would not change a thing - followed the recipe to the T! Definitely adding this to the rotation - brought back great memories of my year abroad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious. I didn't go through all the steps. Just whisked everything together and also used mozzarella cheese as that is what I had. Excellent! The leeks and thyme really make this special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious - I forgot to buy heavy cream so I used half and half instead, about a cup and a quarter, and then a half cup of 1 % milk. It was still very rich and delicious. Used frozen leeks from Trader Joes, chopped fine, which worked well. Used rice for the blind baking but found that a bit of a pain, so I am wondering if next time i could put in the layer of foil and then just put my other empty pie plate on top of that to keep the crust from bubbling up too much...Worth a try I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 to 4 times, it's absolutely awesome and easy. Replaced some of the veggies based on what I had on hand, always delicious! Also vary the cheese, works great! Perfect meal with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
good quiche
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I liked it and would give it four stars, but my husband and three kids did not like it and said two stars. My husband does not like quiche to begin with and this didn't change his mind. The flavor was good, but the texture was not quite for me. The initial bite was a bit of a surprise because it was the texture of custard. The quiches I have had before are a bit firmer. Once I adapted to the texture, I enjoyed it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eneri
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It was my son, who'd recently had some in Paris, that had me try this. He said it was better than the one in France. That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was excellent for a beginner like me! The custard was perfect and the end result was so tasty that my guests were asking for more! We had it for dinner as well. I had none of the problems with texture that were noted in other reviews. I used swiss cheese as I live outside the marker of Gruyere cheese. I will definitely being making this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I tried this twice today as a dry run for our Bastille Day celebration. I used my grandmother's pie crust recipe which is delicious, but I did not have a deep dish pie plate so I used a springform pan. First time it seemed like I did something wrong with the pie crust as it was mushy on the bottom. Second time the crust was better but did not cook thoroughly on the bottom, which I think might be a result of the wonderful custardy-light filling. I think this is a fantastic recipe using a deep dish pie crust pan, but I need to tweak it when using a springform pan, which I thought gave it a café-like appearance. All in all, I will always use this recipe as a go-to for a light, fluffy quiche. Husband is French and thinks this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I will never make 'quiche' without custard again!! Quiche without the custard tastes like a baked omelette, as other reviewers mentioned, this recipe is something totally different than frittata like 'quiche' recipes. I used a frozen pie crust because I had one but everything else followed exactly. The creaminess of the Gouda and custard is perfect, make sure to layer. I used sliced Gouda and it was perfect. I baked for 52 minutes on the middle rack and had the pie tin on an insulated cookie sheet. Obviously this is more calorie dense than just egg for daily breakfasts but for Sunday brunch it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States