Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
DELICIOUS!! So full of flavor and a beautiful soft fluffy texture! The only modification I made was to do a full cup of onions, instead of 1/2 onions, 1/2 leeks, simply because I didn't want to go buy leeks. I didn't use Chef John's pie crust recipe, but I'm sure it's good also. Thanks for an amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This quiche was one of the best home made ones, that I have ever tasted. I have made many quiches over the years, but this one is definitely in my recipe file. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
But, if you want to kick this up to 5 stars, forget the cayenne, or black pepper like most people use, and use Basil, it's a good pepper substitute and I can really enjoy this without getting heart burn from the pepper. Everybody in my house loves this. Also, we like the cream cheese crust the best too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious and so moist and creamy. I made it exactly as written and will make it again and again! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is by far the best quiche I have ever tasted. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews and seeing people describe the texture as soft or loose. When I think of soft or loose eggs I envision runny egg whites which I agree are gross, but the texture of this quiche is NOT loose like an undercooked egg, it's smoother like a cream cheese. I made it exactly as written...no substitutes and no omissions. I did; however, use Applewood smoked Gruyere. Everything went together quickly and after watching the video (which was quite helpful), the ingredients were perfectly distributed throughout. My daughter took the inaugural first bite and her expression said it all...it's a winner! Thanks, Chef John, for a fantastic addition to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I really liked this quiche! The layering tip was fool proof. I used a frozen pie crust and forgot to buy deep dish so instead I used 3 whole eggs, all of the milk and 1/4 cup of table cream. I also added spinach and mushrooms and beef pepperoni in place of the bacon. Although it took more than a hour in the oven. I suggest baking in a 375 degree oven instead. Overall, It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
EXCELLENT recipe! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was fabulous. I made it for a birthday luncheon. I used a Pillsbury refrigerated roll out pie crust and did not prebake it. I coated the crust with an egg white to keep the filling from making it soggy. I also was short a pie pan so I used a tart pan with a removable bottom. The quiche came out thinner, more like a tart, but it was very pretty when removed from the tart pan and since it is so rich anyway, the thinner sections were just right when served with other dishes. I used defrosted, moisture squeezed from frozen sliced leeks (from Trader Joe's) and about a tsp (or to taste) of dried thyme instead of fresh. I've made many quiches but never a Quiche Lorraine and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Since having the quiche at Mon Ami Gabi in Las Vegas I've been searching for a recipe close to it. This is it! Creamy and delicious. I paired it with a frisee salad with a Klamath vinaigrette. I found the video to be REALLY helpful. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the best quiche recipe I have ever made. I made this for Christmas brunch and it was a huge hit. It takes more effort than a traditional recipe but is well worth it. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States