Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I took the advice of several of the reviewers and added cinnamon and chocolate chips and these were divine. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a very good scone recipe and I will use it again in the future. I did add spices (cinnamon and nutmeg) and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also eliminated the pine nuts and substituted them for chocolate chips. Yum! I'm not sure what the scones would taste like without the cinnamon and nutmeg. I frosted these with homemade cream cheese frosting and drizzled them with melted chocolate. My family loved them and they want me to make them again. For me, that means a recipe was a success :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really liked the texture of this scone. I have to say that I added a little bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and would have added ginger if I had any. I also have to admit that I didn't read the directions all the way through and threw in the egg with the wet ingredients. That meant I added a little more flour when 'folding' it. This was the closest to a 'Stbx' scone that I have found! Maple glaze = YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These are delicious, light layers within the crumb with just the right amount of sweetness. I used pumpkin seeds (pepitas) instead of pine nuts. I did not add any extra spices but that would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am going to give this a full 5 stars because I love the texture of this scone. It is light and moist for a scone. The taste is so nice but I did use fresh cooked pumpkin and added cinnamon, ground ginger and a bit of pumpkin pie spice. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These were lovely! I left out the pine nuts, since well, they're expensive and I didn't have any anyways. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but next time my husband said I should add a full tsp, along with some other traditional pumpkin spices. As it was, it was just as Chef John described: not too moist, not too dry. The glaze was a nice touch. And these were even better warmed up in the toaster oven. This will become a standard recipe for using up my garden sugar pie pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! The kind you can't stop eating...I literally covered the top with cinnamon and sugar and put chopped dates and a handful of raisons in the scone. When I rolled it, I mixed sugar into the flour as I don't like flour coated scones. Definitely a remake in my house! Next time though, I'll top with cinnamon and course raw sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were YUMMY! Thanks for the delicous recipe Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delish! Add spices, omit nuts. Cream cheese glaze set these off for me. A new fall fav :) Gotta say Chef John, you never disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuxorRio
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious! I made them today! It was easy and I did with regular icing all over and then a drizzle of some icing mixed with cinnamon, to add some flavor! I also did it without any nuts! Well, everyone LOVED THEM!! Thanks! Here's my photo, the one with the purple border!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States