Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The PERFECT pumpkin pie. Delicately spiced, lightly sweetened with absolutely NO CRACKS. VERY good. NOTE: I did cover the pie halfway through with foil to keep the crust from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A friend brought this pie to our Thanksgiving dinner today. I was skeptical about anything that differed from the traditional pumpkin pie recipe that I have been making for decades. Was I wrong! I love the texture of this pie, and it is not too sweet. It's the only pumpkin pie I'll make from now on - thanks, Chef John (and thanks to my friend Sue for bringing this great pie to our Thanksgiving celebration.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thanks Chef John, I used your recipe but added 1/4 of the Chinese 5 spice instead of 1/8 and I took 2nd place in a pumpkin pie contest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This pie is delectable - rich and perfectly sweet and spicy. A treat for the taste buds! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used fresh (roasted and then pureed) pumpkin. Besides the pumpkin prep, this recipe is so easy. Little clean-up, and super quick. The crust did get a little overdone, but as another reviewer noted, foil will probably solve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
AMAZING!!!! No crack! I admit...I watched the video and then had to try this pie for Thanksgiving. Although I used a store bought deep dish pie shell....this filling was incredible. Easy and delicious! I too agree that the extra egg yolks made this very rich and creamy. Some pumpkin pies have a bit of a grainy texture....Not this pie, rich, creamy and smooth! I did omit the Chinese 5 spice since I had non on hand....I dont really think it mattered....it was perfectly spiced for us. My family love this pie....it will be my goto pumpkin pie from now on....never again with the evaported milk....its all about the sweetened condensed and the extra yolks. Perfection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Tried it but used 2 cups of fresh pumpkin puree from pie pumpkins instead of the canned stuff, very tasty and was a huge hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This was a great recipe and very easy to make!! Mine didn't crack in the middle and had an excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This pie is delicious. I tried it for Thanksgiving and it was loved by all! Even the pie baking experts raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fixed these for Thanksgiving and everyone who tried them loved them. I was told they are much better than bakery bought and others claimed they were the best they had ever tried. I did not have the Chinese 5 spice on hand, so I supplemented with 1/8 tsp of cloves and it was perfect. And yes, the claim is correct, not a single crack! I now refuse to make any other recipe. They were so creamy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States