Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Really good! Best I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oddrey
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is my all time favorite pumpkin pie recipe. As pumpkin is my favorite kind of pie, I've experimented with many different recipes: varying combinations of different sweeteners, different kinds of dairies, different number of eggs, different combination of spices. This recipe gives you just the right amount of sweetness, a vibrant orange color, and a perfectly rich custardy texture. Many other recipes just turn out dry and mealy. Like many others, I substituted cloves for the Chinese 5-spice, which I did not have on hand. I also used fat free sweetened condensed milk. To mix things up, sometimes I like to make mine using a graham cracker crust: combine 6 tbsp melted butter, 1 1/2 cups fine graham cracker crumbs, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, and 1/3 cup white sugar. Press the mixture into your pie dish and refridgerate for about an hour before filling. You will definitely need a crust shield for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chic4mdawest
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made the recipe as is....wow! Easy to make. I used a store bought frozen crust. Added homemade whipped topping, which was just as easy (thank you Chef John for that recipe, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean Bean
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
No crack, but highly addictive, nonetheless!! This recipe came up trumps. The extra egg yolks made the pie super velvety/firm and the Chinese five spice gave the pie a little more umph, which I appreciated. I also added a splash of maple syrup which did not hurt the flavour of the pie, not-one-bit! I made this for Thanksgiving. Not being a native to the US I wasn't sure how the pie would go down, but my guests finished their plates, most claiming that "I don't normally like pumpkin pie but this is really delicious!" And I think that my midwestern man's pouty lip was a good indication of it's success when I sent our guests home with a couple of slices. My oven runs a wee bit hot and "darkened" the edge of the pie crust more than I would like but that's my deal... otherwise, Chef John, this is a pie that I will be making for LIFE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Bean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Followed directions exactly. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Moist is all I can say. No sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was the best Pumpkin Pie we ever had. I made it exactly per the recipe. Using pumpkin puree and adding the other spices yourself really makes a difference! I baked three different kinds of pies and this one was devoured before any of the others! We didn't even have any leftovers from this one...it was that good! I will never make pumpkin pie with the canned pre-seasoned pie filling again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Well, mine cracked...a lot! But truly the best textured pumpkin pie I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDare
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This pumpkin pie is ABSOLUTE PERFECTION! Super easy directions. This will be my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used this custard as a base for my hybrid pumpkin-sweet potato-acorn squash pie. My husband, a chef, thought it would be a good combo and it was a success. This recipe was perfectly creamy and just the right touch of sweetness. My husband said it was better than the sweet potato pie custard base I used for the other pie that had 1/2 c milk, 3/4 c brown sugar and 3 eggs... it was too sweet and less creamy. Thanks for the tip with the egg yolks, my pie did not crack. I did cut back and use half the amount of spices so the natural flavor of the fresh pumpkin-sweet potato-squash could shine through (and skipped the Chinese 5 Spice b/c my store didn't have it.) I also used Chef Johns pie crust recipe and did not pre-bake the crust. I was worried the crust would get soggy but it was excellent! Crisp on the outside and tender and moist where it came in contact with the custard. I'm going to have to to try that technique with Key Lime Pie and see if it works to make the bottom of the crust more tender. Also I covered the crust with foil after the initial 15 min at 425, otherwise I'm certain the crust would have been burnt by the time it was finished. Thanks for all the tips John. Love when my food comes out perfect the first time without having to tweak it! You save me so much work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States