Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
SOOOOOO GOOOOD! WOW SO EASY! I didn't have the chinnese spice but i did have a mexican vanilla mix so I added that for fun oh and some caramelized ginger too... I will never ever ever buy another pumpkin pie because it will not be this good. After my two picky boys my mother and I finished this pie we couldn't wait to make another one and we didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last week. It was so easy! The flavour and texture were excellent. I used real pumpkin instead of canned puree. It's not easy to find canned pumpkin in my part of the world! I also used ground cloves instead of the Chinese 5 spice (which I didn't have on hand at the time). I'm not American but this is one of my favourite desserts ever and this recipe gave me the best tasting pumpkin pie I've had so far. My American husband and American friends loved it too. I'm going to try making it again but with the Chinese 5 spice. I don't think I'll replace fresh pumpkins for canned though, because I think the fresh one tastes better. Thanks Chef John! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe & actually followed the directions exactly, which honestly is rare for me, but it was my first time making a pumpkin pie so I didn't want to deviate & risk messing up. But the recipe does not lie, my pie came out looking perfect with not a single crack in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and my whole family really enjoyed it. As promised, it didn't crack like many pumpkin pies do. Will make this my "go-to" pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe a couple times and me and my family loved it! We don't have canned pumpkin in Poland so I made it from scratch (took a while, but totally worth it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Best pumpkin pie I have had. Everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This pumpkin pie turned out GREAT! Excellent flavor and not one crack. We did cover the crust halfway through w/ tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the easiest and most delicious pie I have ever made! I will continue to make this pie again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Perfect! No cracks, done to perfection with the baking times listed. I used a store bought crust...I didn't need foil to keep the crust from burning. It came out just right. Make sure to lower the temperature to 350 after 15 minutes at 425 like the recipe states. Very creamy a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The taste was great. It had a grainy texture and I followed the recipe exactly. I made it twice just to be sure I didn't do something wrong the first time. Has anyone experienced this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chattycat1598

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States