Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
It's alright. Certainly pretty, because it really doesn't crack as described. Easy too. I don't know. Maybe I'm just a fan of less dense pumpkin pie. I'm also not sold on the Chinese Five Spice shortcut. Certainly similar flavors, but there's something else in there that didn't click for us. If you want a quick, easy pie that looks pretty, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
the pie is fantastic, but every time i make this pie it cracks, no matter what i do. i just dont get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I've always used the recipe on the Libby's Pumpkin can, which is quite good. But this is, hands down, the BEST pumpkin pie ever! Chinese Five Spice - who would have thought that to be the secret ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
LOVED everything but the addition of the Chinese 5 spice. Will exclude that next time. With that, it seemed just a little heavy on spice and lost just a bit of the pumpkin taste. Otherwise, divine- including the crust which my husband never eats but loved this one.... This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe! It's true there were no cracks. My favorite aspect was the spice blend. Be sure to freshly grate the nutmeg and don't omit the 5-spice. These spice blends were like a party in my mouth. I also give 5 stars to the smoothness and consistency of the filling. It was a very pretty pie for my Christmas table! (The only thing I differed in was to use my own "tried and true" pie crust recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Seriously the best pumpkin pie ever. I've been making a family favorite for a while and it always gets rave reviews. Made this one to change it up and I ended up making it again three times that week. Recipe as is with the exception of using fresh ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Not a baker at all and this turned out perfect. Followed direction exact and was very tastefull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at a pumpkin pie, and I am not sure what I am exoecting in a good pumpkin pie. I tried two separate receipies for Christmas dinner, bith were very dense but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
My family loved this recipe, they want me to make it again for Christmas. I thought it was good but a little too heavy. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States