Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Perfect! I loved it! I used a pre-made pie shell and I added extra spices just because and it was so delicious delicious delicious! (btw it was delicious!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Perfect. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
It was good, definitely better that almost every other pie Pumpkin pie. I was looking for an recipe that could replace my my old tried and true but way to many steps recipe. This recipe is second to that one only and I'll use it for our large thanksgiving gatherings, because it is still better than store bought and other traditional recipes. For sone reason, everyines prefers graham cracker crust with this pie, so I highly recommend giving that a try. For the longest time, no one really realized that was a "secret ingredient" on my old recipe. And since it was so obvious I never thought to specify that crust when passing the recipe along. And don't be scared to use your own preferences on then spices. But I highly recommend using chef johns 5 spice recommendation at least once to see if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Great recipe and very easy to make. I used allspice instead of Chinese 5 spice. Came out great with no cracking! Using a homemade crust is a must!!! You do not need to pre cook the crust and mine took closer to an hour to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Matczak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Didn't crack. And even though I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, I was told it was a pretty good pumpkin pie. Followed directions exactly and used a butter flaky pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
It's alright. Certainly pretty, because it really doesn't crack as described. Easy too. Maybe I'm just a fan of less dense pumpkin pie. I'm also not sold on the Chinese Five Spice shortcut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
the pie is fantastic, but every time i make this pie it cracks, no matter what i do. i just dont get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I've always used the recipe on the Libby's Pumpkin can, which is quite good. But this is, hands down, the BEST pumpkin pie ever! Chinese Five Spice - who would have thought that to be the secret ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
LOVED everything but the addition of the Chinese 5 spice. Will exclude that next time. With that, it seemed just a little heavy on spice and lost just a bit of the pumpkin taste. Otherwise, divine- including the crust which my husband never eats but loved this one.... This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States