Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Nice and spicey the way a pie should be. Sadly my pie did not set properly. More like pudding consistency. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very good very rich! This may be our new go to for pumpkin pie. I did double the spices but I do that in just about anything pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was super easy and baked without a crack in in just like the picture. It tasted great and my husband, who doesn't care for pumpkin pie, loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was the best! Me and my family all loved it! Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
SOOOOOO GOOOOD! WOW SO EASY! I didn't have the chinnese spice but i did have a mexican vanilla mix so I added that for fun oh and some caramelized ginger too... I will never ever ever buy another pumpkin pie because it will not be this good. After my two picky boys my mother and I finished this pie we couldn't wait to make another one and we didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last week. It was so easy! The flavour and texture were excellent. I used real pumpkin instead of canned puree. It's not easy to find canned pumpkin in my part of the world! I also used ground cloves instead of the Chinese 5 spice (which I didn't have on hand at the time). I'm not American but this is one of my favourite desserts ever and this recipe gave me the best tasting pumpkin pie I've had so far. My American husband and American friends loved it too. I'm going to try making it again but with the Chinese 5 spice. I don't think I'll replace fresh pumpkins for canned though, because I think the fresh one tastes better. Thanks Chef John! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I made this recipe & actually followed the directions exactly, which honestly is rare for me, but it was my first time making a pumpkin pie so I didn't want to deviate & risk messing up. But the recipe does not lie, my pie came out looking perfect with not a single crack in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and my whole family really enjoyed it. As promised, it didn't crack like many pumpkin pies do. Will make this my "go-to" pumpkin pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe a couple times and me and my family loved it! We don't have canned pumpkin in Poland so I made it from scratch (took a while, but totally worth it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Best pumpkin pie I have had. Everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States