Chef John's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is the easiest Pumpkin Pie. So creamy and awesome. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
BEST pumpkin pie recipe ever!! Only thing is need to add just a pinch more of the spices if you don't have the Chinese five spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was an absolute HIT on Thanksgiving!!! We made 2 pies (with farm fresh eggs!) and they were awesome! Thanks for the great recipe Chef John! Ps-i didn't have the Chinese spice yet it tasted delicious anyways! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The best! The only pumpkin pie I will make! Smooth and so much better than the evaporated milk pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was an awesome recipe!! I've made the same pumpkin pie for years and decided to try this to see if there's a difference! Huge!! This recipe makes a very rich, creamy delicious pie!! This will now be my standard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Everyone love this pie I made on thanksgiving party???? thank you john !!! Was best pie'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vasanti Panchal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Really good! Best I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oddrey
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is my all time favorite pumpkin pie recipe. As pumpkin is my favorite kind of pie, I've experimented with many different recipes: varying combinations of different sweeteners, different kinds of dairies, different number of eggs, different combination of spices. This recipe gives you just the right amount of sweetness, a vibrant orange color, and a perfectly rich custardy texture. Many other recipes just turn out dry and mealy. Like many others, I substituted cloves for the Chinese 5-spice, which I did not have on hand. I also used fat free sweetened condensed milk. To mix things up, sometimes I like to make mine using a graham cracker crust: combine 6 tbsp melted butter, 1 1/2 cups fine graham cracker crumbs, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, and 1/3 cup white sugar. Press the mixture into your pie dish and refridgerate for about an hour before filling. You will definitely need a crust shield for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chic4mdawest
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made the recipe as is....wow! Easy to make. I used a store bought frozen crust. Added homemade whipped topping, which was just as easy (thank you Chef John for that recipe, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jean Bean
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
No crack, but highly addictive, nonetheless!! This recipe came up trumps. The extra egg yolks made the pie super velvety/firm and the Chinese five spice gave the pie a little more umph, which I appreciated. I also added a splash of maple syrup which did not hurt the flavour of the pie, not-one-bit! I made this for Thanksgiving. Not being a native to the US I wasn't sure how the pie would go down, but my guests finished their plates, most claiming that "I don't normally like pumpkin pie but this is really delicious!" And I think that my midwestern man's pouty lip was a good indication of it's success when I sent our guests home with a couple of slices. My oven runs a wee bit hot and "darkened" the edge of the pie crust more than I would like but that's my deal... otherwise, Chef John, this is a pie that I will be making for LIFE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Bean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States