Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I've probably used 50 different recipes on this website but this one is is sure to become one of my all time favorites. Delicious. Bravo Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made these today exactly as stated. I have to say that they were excellent. Very light and fluffily. You definitely have to whip up the flour mixture for the said two minutes. I really feel that this is the clue to making these pancakes so fantastic. I will for sure be making these time and time again. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe! Did not have veg oil, used coconut oil instead. Increasing the milk a bit helped make it less thick. Too think and they don't cook through properly. They're almost like little gingerbread pancakes! Love them. Wanted to give it 4.5 stars, but not an option. Thanks for a fun fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wbanchero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Yum. Everyone loved them. Added some chocolate chips for the kids and they really dug them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good. The negative reviews are from people, for whatever reason, altered the recipe. Follow it exactly and the result is very good. Kids loved them, wife loved them, I loved them...what else can you say? No changes and they were just as Chef John described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yum yum yum!!! Def needed a little more milk bc the batter was very thick. These were fantastic! I used a little less sugar and brown sugar. I love how the spices don't overwhelm the taste of the pumpkin... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taragg
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These were delicious!! I used my mini pancake pan & made approximately 25 nice fluffy minis. I used coconut oil as my oil and didn't bother w/ the lemon zest. This is saved to my Recipe Box & I plan to make more & freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even tho I try a lot of the recipes I find here, I rarely (if ever) take the time to post a review. I just figure most of them are good or they wouldn't be on here to start with. This time I want to take a few minutes to say how much we enjoyed these Pumpkin Pancakes. Last Fall, my wife went on a pumpkin binge and was making all kinds of recipes with pumpkin as a featured ingredient. Some were good, some not so much. But when I saw these pancakes I knew I had to make them. I enjoy cooking but I always stick to the recipe; I am not experienced enough to play around with the ingredients like many cooks are able to do. This recipe came out perfectly and I followed it exactly to the letter. Maybe some day I will be able to offer advice on modifications, but for now I can only say that if you follow the recipe it will come out very well. I thought maybe I would have some leftover pancakes to freeze for the microwave but they were all eaten in the first round. If you are thinking about trying these Pumpkin Pancakes stop reading and start cooking. They are excellent and very easy to make. I highly recommend this recipe and hope that you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Processed flour, processed sugar, milk and vegetable oil? Seriously? It's these kinds of recipes that explain the high rates of heart disease and type 2 diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony DeRosa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States