Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The flavor was good, but you have to cook them slow and low or youll burn the outside while the inside stays mushy. It was thick batter, I think it needs about a 1/2 c. more milk. I topped it with whipped cream as well, to give it that pumpkin pie feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Flavor and texture were perfect. I used skim milk and these were amazing - probably the best I've ever had pancakes turn out. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Flavor was good. Didn't like the consistency of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Easy, natural ingredients, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delightful change from the usual. These pancakes are delicious! Warm and spicy flavor, reminds me of a cross between pumpkin pie and cake. Light and fluffy texture, and the pure maple syrup really is the frosting on the cake! I did find this recipe makes a lot of batter for 2-3 people who eat modest servings and it's difficult to cut it back. Next time I make it I think I will try baking small rounds with the leftovers and filling it with a maple frosting, like whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage American Male

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is the best pancake recipe I have ever made! The only change I made was to the spices- i had no allspice so I put in a shake each of nutmeg, cardamom, cloves and extra cinnamon. The texture was thick but perfect and easy to cook with. Just spread out the dough in the pan so they aren't too thick. They tasted like Tim Horton's pumpkin muffins - an hour later I could still taste the wonderful flavour of these comfort- food pancakes! My husband said with the syrup, they are more like a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
These were delicious! The perfect amount of pumpkin flavor. I did add about a half cup more of milk because we like them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe is good but we used pumpkin pie spice in stead of all the spices. It came out kind of bitter. But I love it with my Dad's syrup?? Mona age 7
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T. I made them for my hubby's birthday breakfast and everyone loved them. I didn't have a problem with the mixture or dry to liquid ingredients. My only problem was beating off my family as they kept trying to steal the pancakes before they were done. I will keep this recipe - it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Pumpkin just doesn't seem to work well as a pancake filler. The pancakes are floppy whether I cook them in oil or butter, on high heat or low heat. There is also nowhere near enough salt to flavor these, and they definitely need more milk as well so that they actually come out liquidy like pancake batter. I think I will stick with regular pancakes, though these were interesting to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States