Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These came out great. The batter was very thick, and the pancakes came out nice and fluffy. I made 14 4-inch pancakes. I cooked them in butter instead of oil and served them with maple syrup. My husband, son, and his friend devoured most of them, and my son couldn't wait to eat the leftover pancakes for breakfast the next day. Really unique and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I'm a bit obsessed with pumpkin. When fall rolls around I make as many pumpkin recipes as I can find. I've made a lot of pumpkin pancakes over the years. No recipe ever stood out so I would make a different one each time. No more! This recipe is amazing! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Very tasty pancakes . I did add a bit more milk then recipe called for but that's the only change I made . Next time I think I would add just a tat bit less all spice to suit our taste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Awesome! I added walnuts and these pancakes are amazing! They are a rich almost muffin like texture. Love these and will make them again and again and again....,,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Turned out perfectly. Fluffy with good pumpkin flavor. Much better than the dense ones I had been making for years. Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The flavor was good, but you have to cook them slow and low or youll burn the outside while the inside stays mushy. It was thick batter, I think it needs about a 1/2 c. more milk. I topped it with whipped cream as well, to give it that pumpkin pie feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Flavor and texture were perfect. I used skim milk and these were amazing - probably the best I've ever had pancakes turn out. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Flavor was good. Didn't like the consistency of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Easy, natural ingredients, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delightful change from the usual. These pancakes are delicious! Warm and spicy flavor, reminds me of a cross between pumpkin pie and cake. Light and fluffy texture, and the pure maple syrup really is the frosting on the cake! I did find this recipe makes a lot of batter for 2-3 people who eat modest servings and it's difficult to cut it back. Next time I make it I think I will try baking small rounds with the leftovers and filling it with a maple frosting, like whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage American Male

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States