Chef John's Pumpkin Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Swap out the milk and lemon juice for buttermilk. Add a teaspoon of spices. Lose the white sugar and make all 3 T. dark brown sugar for a stronger molasses flavor addition. It is VERY thick so either monitor the flour addition or add a bit of buttermilk at the end to thin it slightly. Makes great big fluffy pancakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was a really good recipe and I was fortunate to still have some frozen pumpkin from my garden. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Good recipe but batter was really thick and did need to add way more milk than called for. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I'd give five stars for taste, because it was very tasty. However, it was a little on the sweet side for me and had too much lemon. I found the lemon overwhelming the pumpkin flavor so it wasn't quite what I was hoping for as a pumpkin pancake, therefore only three stars. I do have to say that I've never thought of adding lemon juice or zest, so that addition took it to a whole different level of pancake than any other pumpkin pancakes I've tried. When I make them again I plan on half the lemon, to cut out the tablespoon of white sugar, and to add an extra teaspoon of cinnamon. However, if you like your pancakes on the sweeter and lemony side, keep it as is, because it is delicious in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I feel a little bad rating this, as I did make changes to the recipe in order to more or less use my own batter base (see the "fluffy whole-grain pancake" recipe in my recipe box), but kept the pumpkin amounts and the spice amounts (though I had to switch lemon extract for zest, not having zest or a lemon on hand). The spice ended up being a little heavy for my taste; in particular, I am likely to back off the cinnamon by 1/4 tsp next time I try this. The interesting thing, though, was that my husband, who is in general not a fan of pancakes (he finds them over-bland and calls them "sponges"), actually liked these because they had a pretty substantial amount of flavor. Since the kids also liked them enough to snack on them all morning, we'll be having them again as we work through our stock of neck pumpkins that we picked up this fall. A side note: fresh pumpkin puree might make a difference here--I had just baked up a couple of pumpkins two days before, so my puree was pretty high-quality. If you can get ahold of a pie pumpkin or sweeter winter squash, it would be worth roasting it up (poke holes in it, put it in a baking pan, and roast it at 350 until a fork pokes easily into it; then cut it open, scoop out the seeds and stringy bits and discard [or roast the seeds], scoop out the flesh and puree it) and using fresh puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Sorry-- I really wanted to like this recipe because the 'sound' of it was good, but unfortunately these pancakes tasted like lemon pancakes not pumpkin ones. The strong lemon flavor over powered all of the spices & the pumpkin itself. My husband & I weren't fond of the overpowering lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyTummy
Photo by dlang94
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great pumpkin pancakes! I used orange juice and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Made these this morning, exactly as posted, just added 1/4 cup of raisin..absolutely delicious! Saved his receipe to my receipe box. K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Sooo good! Very moist and delicious. My kids even loved them. My son asked if I would be rating them, and added "only if you give it 5 stars"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very delicious and just right to start the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make 5-star spiced pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States