Chef John's Pumpkin Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent!!! I went a little lighter on the brulee layer as I wanted it to break a little easier for guests. A total hit at the party. DO TRY THIS ONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Excellent alternative to pumpkin pie - it was delicious - I'd never made a brulee before, so I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Amazing! But so is everything from this chef!!! Don't change a thing, just follow and enjoy with guests! I actually mixed this all in a blender and just poured it into the ramikins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Excellent!!! Easy to make and a great taste and consistency. Big hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Oh my! These are outstanding! This is a fabulous recipe! I followed it exactly. It is perfect the way it is!!!! Will most definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
OMG this is a great recipe I first tried the pumpkin custard at Cracker Barrel it was served with ginger snap cookies and a caramel mousse it was awesome well this recipe is much much better I made the cookies and the mousse really guys this is better then anything you can get in a resturant just a few extra steps and WOW give it a try instead of brulee add ginger snap cookies smashed up on top and caramel mousse yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really liked this recipe but that it was a little different than usual creme brulee texture. My kids actually ate it and it was nice to see something different and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeaveronica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Su yummy! Not the exact same texture as your typical creme brulee but still delicious. I plan on making it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Oh, wow! Super delicious! I love this recipe!! As Chef John says right off the bat, this does NOT have the same texture as a creme brulee, so no one should be disappointed or lower their rating because of this, but it does have its own wonderful, creamy texture and a flavor that is amazing. Thanks Chef John - another winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Wonderful! Creme Brulee is probably my favorite dessert, but this was the first time I've ever tried to make it myself. This recipe was easy. It made a wonderful Thanksgiving dessert ... just right after an extravagant dinner. I made it exactly as described. My 6 ounce ramekins were shallower and larger in area than pictured, so I could have baked them a bit less ... 25 to 30 minutes. Note too, that it takes a while to flame these. It took some time to do 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States