Chef John's Pumpkin Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very easy to make, although not as creamy as "regular" creme brulees. I used my broiler since I didn't have a working torch; the results didn't look as good but did not affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Easy to make. Not the same texture as creme brulee but very good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Wonderful! Creme Brulee is probably my favorite dessert, but this was the first time I've ever tried to make it myself. This recipe was easy. It made a wonderful Thanksgiving dessert ... just right after an extravagant dinner. I made it exactly as described. My 6 ounce ramekins were shallower and larger in area than pictured, so I could have baked them a bit less ... 25 to 30 minutes. Note too, that it takes a while to flame these. It took some time to do 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Oh, wow! Super delicious! I love this recipe!! As Chef John says right off the bat, this does NOT have the same texture as a creme brulee, so no one should be disappointed or lower their rating because of this, but it does have its own wonderful, creamy texture and a flavor that is amazing. Thanks Chef John - another winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
i tried this but it didn't turn out good first time trying this not a cook by any means it came out very loose even cooked longer never set up even after in frig for 2hrs could have poured out of ramakins seemed a little sweet probably me. used a mixer to combine maybe over mixed not sure what i did any help would be appreciated i'm trying my hand at this baking i have a lot to learn thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Su yummy! Not the exact same texture as your typical creme brulee but still delicious. I plan on making it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really liked this recipe but that it was a little different than usual creme brulee texture. My kids actually ate it and it was nice to see something different and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeaveronica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I knew it would be like this, but I missed the silky creamy custard of a true creme brulee. It was delicious, don't get me wrong, but the pumpkin texture just made it like a fancy crustless pie. Nothing to be done for that with this recipe, and my kids thought the torch was the coolest thing ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
OMG this is a great recipe I first tried the pumpkin custard at Cracker Barrel it was served with ginger snap cookies and a caramel mousse it was awesome well this recipe is much much better I made the cookies and the mousse really guys this is better then anything you can get in a resturant just a few extra steps and WOW give it a try instead of brulee add ginger snap cookies smashed up on top and caramel mousse yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I will make this instead of pumpkin pie next Thanksgiving! Delish. I would HIGHLY recommend straining this mixture before filling the ramekins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States