Chef John's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
CAREFULL WITH THE FLOUR!!! It's not expressed enough how important a SOFT dough is for this recipe or any other cinnamon roll recipe. Add your first half of flour as per the video, mix, then slowly and patiently use only whats needed. I used nearly half LESS flour at times, and sometimes I used all the recommended amount, the kind of yeast, water temperature room temperature, humidity etc etc etc all effects this... USE CAUTION WHEN ADDING FLOUR! Taste & Awesomeness is 6 stars, however the directions need to be more accurate with the flour... ONLY AS NEEDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I LOVED these pumpkin cinnamon rolls, but had to mark it down for the flour and bake time changes. I cut the flour down almost a cup, and also baked it for only 15-17 minutes, just until light brown. Follow the rule to stop adding flour when the dough pulls away from most of the bottom. You can always add more flour (even after it has risen until doubled in size), but once you add too much you can't take it out! I also used a cream cheese frosting instead. Tip: I used evaporated milk in place of heavy cream since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I mixed these up a couple days before Thanksgiving and froze them, right in the pan after the 2nd rise but prior to baking them. Took them out of the freezer to thaw then popped them in the oven the morning after Thanksgiving. They were perfect! Moist and light, just the right texture with lots of cinnamon flavor and just a hint of pumpkin. My tip, as with any yeast bread, don't overdo the flour and don't overwork the dough. You need just enough flour for dough to come together and only use enough when rolling them out so that they don't stick. The dough should be soft and pliable. The only thing I changed was the icing, used my own recipe for cream cheese icing and sprinkled chopped pecans on top instead of the pumpkin seeds. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcakes
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this recipe for a fundraiser. They look and smell great! Topped with Halloween decorations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
made these today to go with my giant pot of chili... got a few things that are wrong with the original recipe.. i tried making it as written, except using bread flour instead of all purpose. after 3 cups of the flour was added the dough was looking pretty dry. i added the rest of the flour, another egg and about 1 tbsp of milk to moisten it up a bit more. i dont know if it was so dry to begin with because the different flour... also used 1/4 cup milk and no sugar instead of water with sugar added to proof the yeast before adding the wet and drys. the frosting is incredibly drippy. i like thicker cream cheese frosting on my cinnamon rolls so i adjusted it in an attempt to thicken it up.. didnt work too well, but did help a little. i also only added about 1 tbsp of milk to the frosting. 1/4 cup would have definitely been too much. baked at 350 for 15 minutes and they came out perfect. given all the changes i made, its a 5 star recipe.. but as written, it was a huge pain in the butt... had i not changed anything, it'd most likely be a 3 star at best so thats how i will rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it for Thanksgiving morning and it was a hit. I glazed the rolls rather than the coating of frosting in the pictures and then garnished with pumpkin seeds. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were a bit of work and are really only good for a short time. The frosting gets a little weird after a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMZCOZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade cinnamon rolls, and they turned out great. As per the other reviews, I was careful with the addition of the flour and don't know exactly how much I ended up using. I baked them for about 25 minutes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Use the whole can of pumpkin puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

See how to make a tasty pastry boat for floating your baked asparagus.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States