Chef John's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I've tried the other recipe Chef John has on his blog, and I liked that one much better. The only complaints I have regarding this recipe, is that the flavor of pumpkin is very subtle.... almost non-existent. The other complaint was my fault.... I left them in the oven maybe 3 to 5 minutes longer than I should had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Really great if you watch the amount of flour you add, not necessarily as written. And caramel icing poured over the top when they are hot makes them amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
how did you get the pretty round ones, mine went splooch when they were getting cut like a real soft loaf of bread. Oh they were super tasty, no doubt about that, just I have no idea how to cut them so they STAY round; they were more into the shape of logs or biscotti than a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at homemade cinnamon rolls, and they turned out great. As per the other reviews, I was careful with the addition of the flour and don't know exactly how much I ended up using. I baked them for about 25 minutes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Use the whole can of pumpkin puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
It definitely called for too much cinnamon. I also added a little more pumpkin than called for. But overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I didn't use all of the flour, just added the second part as needed while I kneaded the dough. I loved the rolls themselves and have gotten some rave reviews. I made them at night, and let them sit in the fridge overnight. To help with the rise in the morning, I put the rolls in a cold oven, filled a shallow pan with boiling water and set it underneath for 30 minutes. Then I took both pans out and preheated the oven.The reason I didn't give this 5 stars was the icing. Mine came out lumpy both times I made it. Next time, I am definitely finding a new icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I followed the directions. The dough didn't rise. They came out like brick bisquits! I don't own a bread mixer, so it was really hard work to make this. I am really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I can not believe these have almost a 5 star rating. The texture was majorly off. These are edible and that's all... There's not enough instruction on the flour amount to use or the icing. My icing turned out lumpy, I should have gone with my 1st instinct to whip the cream cheese then add SIFTED powdered sugar then add milk as needed. The recipe states to just whisk it all together?? This needs major revamping. Iv'e made cinnamon rolls before and they have never turned out this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except used half and half instead of heavy cream just because that is what I had in the refrigerator. I also only added about 3 tablespoons of milk to glaze because it looked like it was getting to thin. I thought the rolls were dry so the next time I am going to try this recipe with less flour and less baking time, like others have suggested. The cinnamon filling was perfect. I will try to make these one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States