Chef John's Pork al Latte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is a good starter recipe, needs tweaking as it was too bland for me. I made it as written, but had some left over. With the other half, I added some white wine and thyme. Both were tender, but the second go-around was mush better because of the added seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
tried this an wow talk about one super meal an the taste is yummm, making this again for my niece, as it was so good. A must try dish thanks chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is wonderful. I did have to make a couple of substitutions out of necessity. I had to use ground sage and sour cream. I served over mashed taters. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is the best meal I have ever made. Followed the directions to a T. Chef John, You are my hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Absolutely fantastic!!! My first "chef john" recipe. I opted to double ssuce ingredients after reading reviews, glad I did. I was in search of a recipe to use up my pork shoulder that wasn't pulled pork- this was so good! The part that was the most involved was browning the pork as I did it in batches due to size of my Dutch oven. Used creme fraiche (got at trader joes). Served over homemade mashed potatoes. Amazing recipe! THANKS CHEF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Absolutely delicious. My favourite pork stew recipe. Don't change a thing. I serve with the Chef John's polenta recipe also found on this site or on Foodwishes.com as well and make my own Creme Fraiche a couple days before also using Chef John's technique (pint whipping cream, 3 Tbsp Butermilk or plain active yogurt stir - 24 hrs lightly covered at room temp then 24 sealed in the fridge - viola Creme Fraiche) I love how Chef John's recipes rarely need any tweeking - perfect - every time. Try this and I doubt you'll regret it. While I go to the trouble to make my own creme fraiche I am sure sour cream would be just as lovely and in a pinch even plain whipping cream but it would lack that tiny tartness that the creme fraiche has ... still with all the other flavours and the fact that this is a stew I doubt it would be missed much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe was amazing. We couldnt find creme fraiche or sage in our local grocery store so we used 1/4 Cup of cream and 2 tsp dried poultry seasoning and served with Chef Johns Polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this tonight followed the recipe exactly. It was devoured! I did double the recipe because we had a 3 lb. pork roast. Hubby went crazy over it. Fresh sage is a must! I served it over mashed potatoes with a side of mixed vegetables and some crusty bread for sopping up the sauce. It's relatively easy to make, however, I did find I had to cook my pork over 2 hours to get it tender enough, so take that into consideration (I had a pork sirloin roast maybe that was why?) Next time I might increase the sauce 50% or maybe even double it, because it really needed just a little more sauce (I think hubby might have been a sauce hog haha). Even my picky toddler grandson inhaled it. Watch the salt though, it shouldn't need any additional salt because you add it to the meat before cooking and also to help sweat the onions and that's plenty - also use low sodium chicken broth! I would highly recommend watching his video first before you make it the first time. You will not be unhappy with this recipe. I would also advise sticking to the recipe exactly the first time because you will see it doesn't need any changes. It will definitely be one of our favorites from now on. I could not find creme fraiche so I made it. It does take 24 hours so if you can't find it make it the day before. Whip together 1 cup heavy cream 1 to 1 1/2 - tablespoons buttermilk. Let it sit 12 hrs. room temp lightly covered and then refrigerate 12 hrs. before using. (will keep for 10 days in the frige).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made this exactly as written and it was wonderful. The pork was very tender and the sauce, combined with polenta, reminded us of the best parts of Thanksgiving dinner - the flavors of gravy over cornbread stuffing. My husband thought it was one of the best pork dishes I've ever made! This is worth the effort and then some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Turned out great! Tender & delicious! My only adjustment was using sour cream instead of creme fraiche, but that's only because my grocery store is in the stone ages and didn't have any. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States