Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a very good pop over recipe that can be adapted easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Turned out great.I'm not going to be one of those people that talks about the different things I did to change the recipe. It's prefect just way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm not quite sure how to rate this one. I'm sure something went wrong on my end. I have never made popovers before, and these did not rise much above the muffin tin, and then collapsed after I took them out. They tasted okay, kinda bland, but still good with the beef stew gravy. The inside was very eggy, reminded us of an omelette. There were very little air bubbles, quite dense. I wonder if it's the altitude here (over 6000 ft), but I don't know what I'd have to change to fix that. I will try this again, and play around to see if I can figure it out. They definitely tasted good! I doubled everything and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Struggled with making popovers before trying this recipe. Tried it using milk and eggs brought to room temperature and I finally invested in popover pans. I also used flour specifically for bread baking. They came out FANTASTIC; daughter said better than the ones served at The Zodiac Room in Neiman Marcus. Now that's a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Love this - I have made these several times. To convert to desert, I used the same recipe, but instead of cheese/cayenne, I added strawberry jelly - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Made as written except no cheese. Total baking time for my oven 40 mins. Served with a little butter. Turned out amazing! Thank you again Chef John..YOU just make food awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Fabulous and soooo easy! We didn't use cheese or cayenne because it was breakfast, and my family gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I make this all the time. I just got a new oven and thought they might not worked...it has a cooling fan and heats up quickly but they worked anyway. I LOVE this recipe. The only complaint is that if you want more you have to wait for the oven to cool!! LOL...they take a few minutes to throw together and before you know it you're eating the most delicious, lightest home made popovers ever! Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These are hilarious. They worked exactly as stated, but I used my blender to mix the batter and muffin tins. Also, I took them out at 25 minutes because my Wolf ovens sometimes heat faster than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First time I made pop overs and it was so easy they came out great! They were delicious with beef stew also from Allrecipes....(Slow cooker Beef Stew IV to which I omitted the Onion Soup Mix - due to it having MSG...WTH?? lol...added additional spices, celery and some Kitchen bouquet). Again...these pop overs are easy and delicious! Thank you Chef John...btw, going to try your Buttermilk Biscuits for Sunday breakfast 2mrw with some Southern Blues playin in the background. ... oh yes. Wohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States