Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are great popovers with the recipe just as it is. I made these and they turned out just like those pictured. The only change I made was to use a regular size muffin pan. Made 11 popovers. In the extra muffin pan hole I filled about a third of the way with water. The second batch I modified the recipe by leaving the butter, cayenne, and cheese off, and still used regular muffin tin pan. It took 25 minutes from cold oven. Popped good! Sprinkled with cinnamon/sugar and barely drizzled with honey. Sometimes you just gotta have the sweet stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These are perfection. I've tried several versions of popovers and used different methods but none match these results. The popovers rose high and cooked beautifully, just like in the video. They fell out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
My mom and grandma used to make these all the time. Oven was smoking hot, cast iron muffin pan (which I still have and use), no problem with raising, puffing waaaaaaay up, or sticking in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Try it with freshly grated Parmesan instead of cheddar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I love popovers and make them often, with varying results,but have never made this recipe before. These popped beautifully, into fluffy balloons, actually mine looked better than the picture above! Next time I will cook a little less 24-25 mins, as they browned quickly and I like the softer pudding middle texture. I have found that if you decrease the salt, your popovers will not pop, do not not over mix, and always use room temp. ingredients( I never have that time so pop the eggs into warm water before cracking and nuke the milk for a minute on very low). I used a muffin tin for these and you never would believe that they were not out of a pop over tin, so big and puffy. Most recipes call for a pre-heated tin, so I am amazed that these worked so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristina123
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
When I made these I already had something in the oven & I realized while I was whisking that the oven obviously won't be cool, but they came out fine. I added basil & garlic. Definitely would make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
So easy to make! Sprinkled Parmesan on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a very good pop over recipe that can be adapted easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Turned out great.I'm not going to be one of those people that talks about the different things I did to change the recipe. It's prefect just way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm not quite sure how to rate this one. I'm sure something went wrong on my end. I have never made popovers before, and these did not rise much above the muffin tin, and then collapsed after I took them out. They tasted okay, kinda bland, but still good with the beef stew gravy. The inside was very eggy, reminded us of an omelette. There were very little air bubbles, quite dense. I wonder if it's the altitude here (over 6000 ft), but I don't know what I'd have to change to fix that. I will try this again, and play around to see if I can figure it out. They definitely tasted good! I doubled everything and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States