Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Love this - I have made these several times. To convert to desert, I used the same recipe, but instead of cheese/cayenne, I added strawberry jelly - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at making popovers and was very pleased with the result. It was a snap to throw together and rounded out the meal well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and they were the best popovers I had ever made! They popped really high; it was amazing! I love popovers, but I have difficulty getting them to pop, and these were perfect. A side-note though- I used a 6 tin popover pan, not a muffin pan, and the batter did not fill all the tins. The first time I made these, the batter filled 5 tins, and the second time, it filled 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Popped way up by 20 minutes, then shrank a teensy bit by 25 minutes as it browned. I took them out at 25 because I like them still chewy on the outside. At 15 minutes, my oven was billowing smoke due to butter bubbling out on the oven floor. Next time I might put a rimmed cookie sheet underneath. I used two 6-hole cupcake tins, average size, filled 3/4 way, and got 11 popovers which we scarfed down with pea soup. I'll use this method again, and experiment with tin sizes and possibly with my antique cast iron popover pans. Thank you, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
What a great recipe! Do not change a thing in the technique! They came out beautiful with that cold oven start, even though I was skeptical at first. I left out the cayenne pepper and cheese, but that was my personal preference. Chef John, you did it again with a great video and recipe! Thanks! You are the best! Keep those recipes and videos coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First time I made pop overs and it was so easy they came out great! They were delicious with beef stew also from Allrecipes....(Slow cooker Beef Stew IV to which I omitted the Onion Soup Mix - due to it having MSG...WTH?? lol...added additional spices, celery and some Kitchen bouquet). Again...these pop overs are easy and delicious! Thank you Chef John...btw, going to try your Buttermilk Biscuits for Sunday breakfast 2mrw with some Southern Blues playin in the background. ... oh yes. Wohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These are hilarious. They worked exactly as stated, but I used my blender to mix the batter and muffin tins. Also, I took them out at 25 minutes because my Wolf ovens sometimes heat faster than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I make this all the time. I just got a new oven and thought they might not worked...it has a cooling fan and heats up quickly but they worked anyway. I LOVE this recipe. The only complaint is that if you want more you have to wait for the oven to cool!! LOL...they take a few minutes to throw together and before you know it you're eating the most delicious, lightest home made popovers ever! Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Fabulous and soooo easy! We didn't use cheese or cayenne because it was breakfast, and my family gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Made as written except no cheese. Total baking time for my oven 40 mins. Served with a little butter. Turned out amazing! Thank you again Chef John..YOU just make food awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States