Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Popped way up by 20 minutes, then shrank a teensy bit by 25 minutes as it browned. I took them out at 25 because I like them still chewy on the outside. At 15 minutes, my oven was billowing smoke due to butter bubbling out on the oven floor. Next time I might put a rimmed cookie sheet underneath. I used two 6-hole cupcake tins, average size, filled 3/4 way, and got 11 popovers which we scarfed down with pea soup. I'll use this method again, and experiment with tin sizes and possibly with my antique cast iron popover pans. Thank you, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and they were the best popovers I had ever made! They popped really high; it was amazing! I love popovers, but I have difficulty getting them to pop, and these were perfect. A side-note though- I used a 6 tin popover pan, not a muffin pan, and the batter did not fill all the tins. The first time I made these, the batter filled 5 tins, and the second time, it filled 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great method and I have used a recipe like this for years. My Yorkshire Mum and Aunties would not agreed but it does work. Using this recipe, as written, mine did not POP as much as much as they usually do and I attribute that to a couple of things. First, I usually use either Wondra flour or cake flour - also non fat milk - Cold oven and bake at 425. The lighter the ingredients the high they will rise. My bake time is usually about 25 minutes. They were crispy and very tasty, just not as tall as I would have expected. BTW - this made 9 popovers with a little batter to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was disappointed. They didn't get big and puffy, were small and didn't pop. Next time I will use the glass Pyrex cups, popovers always turn out better with the glass cup. I followed the greasing of the pan to a tee and they all stuck. They tasted great be looked terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
What a great recipe! Do not change a thing in the technique! They came out beautiful with that cold oven start, even though I was skeptical at first. I left out the cayenne pepper and cheese, but that was my personal preference. Chef John, you did it again with a great video and recipe! Thanks! You are the best! Keep those recipes and videos coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at making popovers and was very pleased with the result. It was a snap to throw together and rounded out the meal well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a very good pop over recipe that can be adapted easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Turned out great.I'm not going to be one of those people that talks about the different things I did to change the recipe. It's prefect just way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm not quite sure how to rate this one. I'm sure something went wrong on my end. I have never made popovers before, and these did not rise much above the muffin tin, and then collapsed after I took them out. They tasted okay, kinda bland, but still good with the beef stew gravy. The inside was very eggy, reminded us of an omelette. There were very little air bubbles, quite dense. I wonder if it's the altitude here (over 6000 ft), but I don't know what I'd have to change to fix that. I will try this again, and play around to see if I can figure it out. They definitely tasted good! I doubled everything and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Struggled with making popovers before trying this recipe. Tried it using milk and eggs brought to room temperature and I finally invested in popover pans. I also used flour specifically for bread baking. They came out FANTASTIC; daughter said better than the ones served at The Zodiac Room in Neiman Marcus. Now that's a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States