Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great method and I have used a recipe like this for years. My Yorkshire Mum and Aunties would not agreed but it does work. Using this recipe, as written, mine did not POP as much as much as they usually do and I attribute that to a couple of things. First, I usually use either Wondra flour or cake flour - also non fat milk - Cold oven and bake at 425. The lighter the ingredients the high they will rise. My bake time is usually about 25 minutes. They were crispy and very tasty, just not as tall as I would have expected. BTW - this made 9 popovers with a little batter to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Popped way up by 20 minutes, then shrank a teensy bit by 25 minutes as it browned. I took them out at 25 because I like them still chewy on the outside. At 15 minutes, my oven was billowing smoke due to butter bubbling out on the oven floor. Next time I might put a rimmed cookie sheet underneath. I used two 6-hole cupcake tins, average size, filled 3/4 way, and got 11 popovers which we scarfed down with pea soup. I'll use this method again, and experiment with tin sizes and possibly with my antique cast iron popover pans. Thank you, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and they were the best popovers I had ever made! They popped really high; it was amazing! I love popovers, but I have difficulty getting them to pop, and these were perfect. A side-note though- I used a 6 tin popover pan, not a muffin pan, and the batter did not fill all the tins. The first time I made these, the batter filled 5 tins, and the second time, it filled 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was disappointed. They didn't get big and puffy, were small and didn't pop. Next time I will use the glass Pyrex cups, popovers always turn out better with the glass cup. I followed the greasing of the pan to a tee and they all stuck. They tasted great be looked terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Harkless

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
What a great recipe! Do not change a thing in the technique! They came out beautiful with that cold oven start, even though I was skeptical at first. I left out the cayenne pepper and cheese, but that was my personal preference. Chef John, you did it again with a great video and recipe! Thanks! You are the best! Keep those recipes and videos coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I love popovers and make them often, with varying results,but have never made this recipe before. These popped beautifully, into fluffy balloons, actually mine looked better than the picture above! Next time I will cook a little less 24-25 mins, as they browned quickly and I like the softer pudding middle texture. I have found that if you decrease the salt, your popovers will not pop, do not not over mix, and always use room temp. ingredients( I never have that time so pop the eggs into warm water before cracking and nuke the milk for a minute on very low). I used a muffin tin for these and you never would believe that they were not out of a pop over tin, so big and puffy. Most recipes call for a pre-heated tin, so I am amazed that these worked so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at making popovers and was very pleased with the result. It was a snap to throw together and rounded out the meal well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
So easy to make! Sprinkled Parmesan on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Turned out great.I'm not going to be one of those people that talks about the different things I did to change the recipe. It's prefect just way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a very good pop over recipe that can be adapted easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States