Chef John's Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These are hilarious. They worked exactly as stated, but I used my blender to mix the batter and muffin tins. Also, I took them out at 25 minutes because my Wolf ovens sometimes heat faster than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First time I made pop overs and it was so easy they came out great! They were delicious with beef stew also from Allrecipes....(Slow cooker Beef Stew IV to which I omitted the Onion Soup Mix - due to it having MSG...WTH?? lol...added additional spices, celery and some Kitchen bouquet). Again...these pop overs are easy and delicious! Thank you Chef John...btw, going to try your Buttermilk Biscuits for Sunday breakfast 2mrw with some Southern Blues playin in the background. ... oh yes. Wohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
What a great recipe! Do not change a thing in the technique! They came out beautiful with that cold oven start, even though I was skeptical at first. I left out the cayenne pepper and cheese, but that was my personal preference. Chef John, you did it again with a great video and recipe! Thanks! You are the best! Keep those recipes and videos coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt at making popovers and was very pleased with the result. It was a snap to throw together and rounded out the meal well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Popped way up by 20 minutes, then shrank a teensy bit by 25 minutes as it browned. I took them out at 25 because I like them still chewy on the outside. At 15 minutes, my oven was billowing smoke due to butter bubbling out on the oven floor. Next time I might put a rimmed cookie sheet underneath. I used two 6-hole cupcake tins, average size, filled 3/4 way, and got 11 popovers which we scarfed down with pea soup. I'll use this method again, and experiment with tin sizes and possibly with my antique cast iron popover pans. Thank you, Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and they were the best popovers I had ever made! They popped really high; it was amazing! I love popovers, but I have difficulty getting them to pop, and these were perfect. A side-note though- I used a 6 tin popover pan, not a muffin pan, and the batter did not fill all the tins. The first time I made these, the batter filled 5 tins, and the second time, it filled 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great method and I have used a recipe like this for years. My Yorkshire Mum and Aunties would not agreed but it does work. Using this recipe, as written, mine did not POP as much as much as they usually do and I attribute that to a couple of things. First, I usually use either Wondra flour or cake flour - also non fat milk - Cold oven and bake at 425. The lighter the ingredients the high they will rise. My bake time is usually about 25 minutes. They were crispy and very tasty, just not as tall as I would have expected. BTW - this made 9 popovers with a little batter to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was disappointed. They didn't get big and puffy, were small and didn't pop. Next time I will use the glass Pyrex cups, popovers always turn out better with the glass cup. I followed the greasing of the pan to a tee and they all stuck. They tasted great be looked terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Harkless

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States