Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This bread is absolutely delicious! And very easy to make. It takes time and effort, but it is very good. Wish I had taken a photo :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I got this recipe to work, but not without its fair share of trial and error. The dough recipe itself is alright, if not a tad on the salty side. But you know in step 8 where it says to pat them into rounds an inch thick? That's , flatten those puppies until they're pancakes and then some, because the shape they are when you put them in the pan is they shape they'll come off in. Mine didn't puff up at all. Also, I don't know what you're stove is like, but at "medium high" heat, my stove burned it in 2 minutes. I wound up cooking them at the 3/10 setting. To figure those two things out, I sacrificed a quarter of my yield. I also highly doubt that the half hour wait in step 7 and the 5 minute wait in step 8 are at all necessary. To be fair, I'll admit that I mixed the dough by hand, due to my lack of an electric mixer, but I doubt that made a difference. This recipe is workable, but for much more consistent results with less effort I'd recommend cooking them in the oven, which is something I've done in the past with greater success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Love this recipe. Easy to make and never fails. Everybody loves them and they make great personal pan pizzas if they don't inflate. I keep some in the freezer at all times. The only problem is the batch is a little small better to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I made smaller pitas so they cooked faster but otherwise I followed the plan and was rewarded for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Best homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and my pitas didn't puff up. I guess I'm going to have to find another pita recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This recipe was great. First time making pita bread. I should have made more by doubling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really tasty bread. Mine didn't puff up like the video but I didn't have a stand mixer to make these. I did get a pocket, but I had to sort of help open it up a little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Great tasting homemade pitas. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used an electric griddle heated to 400 instead of a cast iron pan. Some puffed up and some didn't. I used a knife to start splitting the ones that didn't puff up, then carefully finished opening by hand. Made Holly's Hummus to go with and they were a hit. Thanks, Chef John for the great recipe and video. I will be making these many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cindy_richelle
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow and my results were very good. I am new to bread making and pitas is a bread i was very interested in making myself as they are so expensive in the stores, and my family loves to eat hummus and pita chips. But with the price of pita chips and the price of pita bread, it was not always feasible. Now it is, my first batch of pitas using Chef John's recipe was a hit with my family and I was very please with the results. I need a bit more practice to perfect the pita making technique, but I am very pleased with my first timer results and I will be making these pitas again very soon. Thank you Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States