Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
My daughter and I are brand new to baking. We followed the recipe and barely got it to rise. The taste was fine but gummy I think from it not rising. They were also very small pitas at 1/4 inch thickness. Experimented with taking one of the balls closer to a 1/8 thickness and it performed much better. Will try again but using sugar to proof the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leonie Carr Tasmania
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
We enjoyed the breads. Mine were unable to be split. I also noticec they go stale within almost 2 hours. However they are easy to make and delicious served fresh with a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leonie Carr Tasmania

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great as a pizza dough also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this and they ended up more like a naan texture because for some reason mine didnt puff up to a hollow in the center, but turned out to be a nice cross between a flat bread and naan in the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Delicious and perfect! I even used white whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Holbrook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Just as Chef John commented - better than any pita breads you will find in the supermarket. It takes a little effort, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
So easy to make and better than any store bought versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shumail
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Paired it with bakermom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The video is right- it is MUCH better then store bought. I loved it! The only thing is that it was too salty for my taste. I will reduce this next time. Also, I had to leave mid-way, so I popped the dough in the fridge to rise. The dough still doubled in size, but it did not form nice pockets with the dough being cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These had great flavor and were very easy to make, followed the exact recipe, watching the video makes things easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States