Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Almost perfect first time! I just watched the video for the first time - saw why I had to use a knife to make pockets! If you do not smush bubbles you will not get a good pocket! I used an electric fry pan @400 degrees as alternate cooking method (from another review thank you!). I used 100 degree oven to rise dough for 2 hours. Browning was faster using electric pan than times in instructions - went by browning color. Flavor so good I put a little butter in one and had for a yummy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I follow the same steps except the last one. I preheated the oven to 500 degrees. Placed the rounded dough in a heavy baking sheet, as much as it takes (depending on the size). Baked for few minutes (about three minutes depending on your oven) Got the bread out and put on towel for few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Really tasty bread. Mine didn't puff up like the video but I didn't have a stand mixer to make these. I did get a pocket, but I had to sort of help open it up a little..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and my pitas didn't puff up. I guess I'm going to have to find another pita recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is my go to pita bread recipe. Simple, easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I tried making pita bread in the past and every time I failed miserably so of course I was skeptical that I could successfully prepare pita bread using your instructions (It's not you---it's definitely me). Call me a bit overdramatic, but I literally teared up when my first batch came off the stove browned to perfection and actually sturdy enough to open as a pouch. I guess I just had to watch someone else make them before giving it another shot. Thanks from the bottom of my heart. This is now my go-to recipe from now on. Now if you'll excuse me, I have a batch of falafels to make to go along with these bad boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by roseanimal
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe! The dough was so simple to make and I easily found a way to make and eat dinner while waiting the two hours for it to rise. When I placed the pitas in my skillet it puffed up so nicely!! I was expecting a HUGE fail but now I've completely fell in love with these pitas and will be making them every weekend! Did I mention they tasted amazing too? Light, fluffy, and so bread-y, they were exactly what I was looking for in a pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseanimal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great recipe! The only thing I can't figure out is how Chef John rolls out the pitas with as little flour as he does. My rolling pin wants to stick. But, the flavor is great! People, if yours aren't puffing up, it's not that big of a deal. Cut your pitas into halves, and then run a paring knife down the middle of the insides, being careful not to cut through to the outside. I haven't had a wasted pita yet by doing it this way. Just go slow and be careful with your knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah Kay
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It is a simple and fool proof recipe. I hand kneaded the dough because I don't have the dough mixer attachment. It took me 15 minutes to knead the dough and I used about 2 table spoon flour which I sprinkled on my kneading board. All the pitas puffed and formed pocket. Since I don't portion equally, I noted pockets of the thinner bread is more fragile than the thicker bread. I suggest if you want to form good pocket for filling, make a thicker bread. But if you want to serve as taco shell, make a thinner bread. I had it for my brunch to go with mayo and fish. Fold it up, just like soft taco. Yum....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This bread is absolutely delicious! And very easy to make. It takes time and effort, but it is very good. Wish I had taken a photo :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States