Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hollywood_Realtor
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe verbatim and the results were excellent. Next time, I will experiment with different herbs, such as rosemary or oregano. We dipped in the pita bread into Tzatziki sauce which was good, but what tasted even better was a light brushing of garlic infused olive oil as they came off the skillet. this was a great family project, and the entire family enjoyed participating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Wow, these tasted great. They were a little difficult to make, I had to add a lot more flour then what was called for, before I could get the right consistency. While cooking them, mine did not puff up very much, so I had trouble getting the pockets in mine. I had to use my finger to force the bread to open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Mine only puffed a little when I covered the pan, otherwise they did not puff up. Tried baking and it was definitely more puffy. Try both and see what works for you, either way it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ms.krstn
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I love bread. Lately I've been loving flat breads, andy I've been trying to eat less sugar, so I was happy to try this recipe and stop having to buy pita bread every week. Watching the included video is extremely helpful. I folowed the recipe, and used my kitchen aid with the dough hook and my pita turned out perfect. I'm using this as a starter recipe and will probably make changes depending on my mood. But will definitely make this as is again. In a lot of the reviews I noticed people have been having trouble getting the poof, and I think rolling the dough thinner might help with that. My son was "helping" me and the ones he rolled out were a bit on the thicker side and although they tasted delicious, they didn't poof and i have to cut a pocket in. Once he wandered off, I rolled the dough to be thinner and they all proofed! Best pita ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This recipe even works in high altitude. I live at 4800 ft. It was perfect. Two things I will do next time. 1 Use peanut oil to cook the breads. It handles the heat better. 2. Use a soft brush to remove excess flour from the bread rounds before I put them in the hot pan. I had trouble with the excess flour burning. These two steps should make this recipe perfect. Also rolling out the bread with my rolling pin was faster than using my hands and the rolled breads cooked just like the hand patted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I just finished cooking a batch, the first 6 did not puff and the last 2 did. All of the breads tasted great.The flavor is spot on and I plan on making these again for some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Make this all the time and it's great! Better than buying at the store because you know everything that's going into it. I also made this with whole wheat flour, substituting 3/4 cup whole wheat flour for every cup of white flour, and adding more while kneeding if necessary. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This recipe was very simple and the result was delicious. We lived in Egypt and this reminded us of the baladi bread we loved so much. I've shared the link to this recipe on my blog along with a fabulously easy lentil soup recipe. The perfect combination to take me back my time in Egypt. www.nataliewalters.wordpress.com Thanks for sharing this recipe and the great video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Walters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is great easy to make recipe. We used the dough for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amelia Sunderbug
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
i liked the pan vs the oven in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia Sunderbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States