Chef John's Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome, I followed the directions just as stated( skipped the video) the fluffed up and browned perfectly. Whipped up some turkey salad, stuffed my pita and everyone in the house enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
wow - easy and delicious. I wanted pita bread for gyros, so I made 10 thinner pitas with this, instead of 8. Turned out perfect. I plan on making pita chips with the few I have leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Tried it. It was so good almost brought us to tears. Sea salt was the key for us I think. So easy my 7 year old nearly made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I grew up on pita bread and this recipe isn't what I expected. Middle Eastern pita bread is very soft and a little chewy as well as thinner. This recipe is a little salty, very soft but it doesn't have the chewiness. Two problems I found making it with a cast iron skillet was that the bread took on a strange flavor and medium high was way too hot and it scortched my first one. It's an easy recipe but next time I'll cut the salt way down and try baking it on a baking stone in the oven on high heat, lower rack. I'm not sure if that will help with the chewiness though. Chewy and soft is what makes a great pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was such an easy recipe to make, great for a first time bread maker like me. It was my first time using a Kitchenaid and I was very pleased. They do take a long time to cook (almost an hour for 8). Next time I might have two skillets going to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My first time making pita. It turned out great. I used a bread machine to make the dough. I also used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. I think I'll try all purpose flour next time to compare. Chef John is right; these were better than any pita I have bought in a store. I liked experimenting by rolling them out to different thicknesses. 1/4" like the recipe was great; I also liked thicker pieces. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I used a different recipe for the dough, but I loved Chef John's instructional video for the learning the technique. I had never made pitas before, but I had some leftover dough from making bolani, and I was out of bolani filling. So, why not pitas? My dough was made with King Arthur 100% whole wheat flour, salt, yeast, and water (no oil). I made a soft, wet dough, and kneaded it until it passed the windowpane test. Then, I let the dough ferment in the refrigerator for 3 days. I used Chef John's suggested technique for making small boules, letting them proof for 30 min., rolling them out, and then letting them rest before grilling in a cast iron skillet. I made my pitas thinner (2 or 3 times as thin) than Chef John, and I used peanut oil to coat the pan. I let my pan get quite hot. Almost all of my pitas were "full balloons." I found that the key to getting them to puff up was to roll them thinly and uniformly. Grill on one side until bubbles appear throughout the whole pita, flip and grill on the other side (puffing should start), then flip again to get the full balloon. These were the best, most flavorful pitas I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Fiss

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I followed all the steps went great, I used a pizza stone on the grill instead , puffing was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
i really liked the pita bread made following Chef John's recipe. I didn't have a stand mixer so i used a food processor instead. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JACQUI623
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This really turned out very well, except I think, at least, on my stove, to use only medium heat! My first couple got a little to brown, not quite burned! I hope practice makes perfect! Thanks so much for the recipe and the video helps a lot! Some of mine puffed up and some didn't. But I really didn't care. I wanted them for souvlaki with tzatziki! Like I used to get many years ago when we were stationed just outside Athens, Greece! Great food there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States