Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
UNBELIEVABLE!! This cake is absolutely amazing and so easy to make. It was gone in 10 minutes at my house. Very earthy and fulfilling. I'll be making this again and again...It is "The perfect desert"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
So I watched the video of this recipe that was posted on the home page, and decided to try it...Had to improvise a bit (apologies to you review purists) used Capt. Morgans spiced rum and had no pineapple juice since I used pre-sliced fresh pineapple in a plastic container and it had a little sponge on the bottom which stole all the juice. Subbed OJ. Subbed a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg for cardamom (personal preference). My skillet was a bit larger than 12 inches, so my batter just barely covered the pineapple and cooked up in about 20-25 minutes. Very tasty - very buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Sorry- I thought the cake was dry. There are other recipes I find much more moist and have more flavour. The cardamom did not add the "special" element I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was surprised by this, because I expected the dough to be liquidy, as usual for cake. The dough was actually very thick, almost knead-able, even after I added a splash more of milk to try and loosen it up a little. But, I gamely spread the dough on the fruit-and-sugar in the skillet, and baked it... and it came out DELICIOUS. As a note, I used coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar in the topping, and a third of a cup of agave instead of the half cup of sugar in the cake itself. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I was looking so forward to trying this recipe I even bought a cast-iron skillet! I don't know if I did something wrong (I can't see that I did), but it was disappointing. It looked pretty, just like the photo, but the cake was dry and didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Great, reminds me of my mom's cast iron pineapple upside down cake. Only difference I have made in recipe is to use canned unsweetened pineapple slices with a maraschino cherry placed in the center of the slices and Splenda brown sugar blend for brown sugar. Also do not have cardamon and used dash of cinnamon. Great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
What no cayenne? Have not made yet just surprised to see Chef John and no cayenne pepper. i will updated tonight when i make it ****UPdate***This was a great cake, i only gave it 4 stars because i think i wanted a little more cake, i will make again i think that i will double the cake part. the cardamom was a nice flavor and went well with the brown sugar and pineapple. I ment to add some pineapple juice to the batter but forgot thank you chef john
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was quite good, but I'm sorry to say that I likes the box mix version my brother made for me better. He used a yellow cake mix (substituting applesauce for the oil - cake was really moist - but of course with a brown sugar & butter topping it still wasn't low fat). The fresh ingredients worked fine, but it was on the dense side as most scratch cakes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
i like my betty crocker recipe better moist i will not make this again.. but fun trying ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
cook first mixture til bubbles - not 5 minutes bake at 400 for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States