Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Oh my. This is to die for. The browned butter gives the cake fabulous taste. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made this cake it's good but not amazing. Found the cake was the texture of a tea biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this cake a second time because it was so good and easy to make. The first time I found the dough to be a touch dry so I used buttermilk instead of milk. I also added a bit more of the pineapple juice to the sauce and took it off the heat shortly after it started to boil. Very good my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I cannot get enough of this cake. Followed the recipe to the T, leaving out the cardamom because I didn't have any, and added extra cinnamon. The cake turned out SO perfectly. Took it out of the oven early, because I love my cake soft and dense...it was sublime! I ate too many servings by myself! The caramel offsets the tart of the pineapple, and pairs really well with coffee. I've made it twice so far--it's my absolute favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The upside-down pineapple portion was fantastic, but the cake portion left something to be desired. I baked it for 5 minutes less than the minimal baking time and it was overdone. I'd love to try this again with a different cake on the bottom. Overall it was still a good dessert as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good flavor, but much too dry. If I ever try this again I'll add a lot more juice in the beginning - maybe 1/2cup? Or even perhaps a full 1cup of juice... I'd just have to try it. When you flip there isn't any hot liquid to soak into the cake. The best part is the edge of the cake where it caramelized with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
i like my betty crocker recipe better moist i will not make this again.. but fun trying ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very yummy and so easy to make! I used up some fresh pineapple. Followed the recipe ingredients, added 1/2 tsp vanilla to batter and ommited cardamom(didn't use or have). The batter is very thick and it rose up nicely and was moist, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
cook first mixture til bubbles - not 5 minutes bake at 400 for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I did not care for this. I felt that I wasted good Rum & Pineapple on this. Sorry Chef John, but this was just not good. Dry as the desert that I live in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States