Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by butterican26
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was really easy. I did not have a 12-inch pan so I used a 9 inch one. It turned out just fine. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is simply amazing. I did not have an oven safe skillet for this so i used a very deep dish pie plate pouring the sugar mixture into it. Worked very well. The dough may look thick but it will work out. A staple for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was very dry, even though I added more pineapple juice than than recipe called for. The "cake" portion was like a dry biscuit consistency and very heavy. I prefer the pineapple upside down cake v!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It looked just like the picture--it was beautiful, but it turned out quite dry. I cooked it even less time than mentioned in the recipe, but it was quite crumbly and dry. I may give it another try because it looked so nice. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this today and it is DELICIOUS!!! I did not have Cardamom so I too used Cinnamon in the batter. I did not have Dark Rum so I just used regular Rum which was just fine. My fresh pineapple was not ripe yet so I used a 15 ounce can of drained (save the juice) pineapple slices. For those of you who thought the batter to be on the dry side I added 2 tablespoons of pineapple juice. Although, I think the batter is supposed to be on the dry side in order to absorb all the butter, and juice from the pineapple! This is a GREAT and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious of course. Sometimes I make this substituting the pineapple for peaches. Peach Upside Down cake is also delish using this recipe. Next I'll try ... apple upside down cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela TJ
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I would recommend doubling the cake batter part of this recipe, as you will want more, if you are like me. (still add only the 1/2 cup melted butter to that batter though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
AMAZING !!! The batter was a little thick so I added a jar of baby applesauce (that's what I had on hand)and a 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. I did not have rum so I substituted Rum flavor instead. For more flavor I added 2 tsp. cinnamon a dash of nutmeg and allspice (this added lots of FLAVOR which I love) This is so SIMPLE and SO easy. I would recommend making this. Those who had problems with this recipe I suggest making a couple adjustments and trying again. That is what cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This cake is fabulous! I added 1/3 cup pineapple juice and 1/3 cup crushed pineapples to the cake batter because it was too thick to even scoop out of my bowl. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't wait to taste it once I smelled the pineapple from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States