Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
this was awesome! relatively easy. tasty, moist, and not too sweet! my husband has asked for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good flavor , easy to do but a bit dry. I felt like I should make extra brown sugar butter too to drizzle on top after slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Pineapple and brown sugar caramel is to die for, although I wouldn't have minded a touch more rum!! Easy release if your skillet is well seasoned and don't wait the full 10 minutes. Turn out a few minutes after removing from oven. Also I agree with the other reviewers....cake seemed a bit dry and not the most flavorful but definitely good! I would add pineapple juice or more milk....or just find a better batter recipe. Sorry I would have add added a photo since it is such a pretty cake...but we already ate 2 slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Man, I was so excited to make this. What a giant fail and I followed recipe exactly. I don't normally do that but I wanted to rate this by following directions/ingredients. The pineapple topping stuff stuck to cast iron (highly seasoned one)after the 10 minutes cool time and the entire cake was a huge mess. Cake part was definitely like a dry biscuit...nothing like cake. Sorry, didn't work for me and what a waste. Boo! First Chef John flop...bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Unbelievable. Absolutely the best cake in the whole world- the brown butter is such an excellent addition. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by butterican26
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was really easy. I did not have a 12-inch pan so I used a 9 inch one. It turned out just fine. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is simply amazing. I did not have an oven safe skillet for this so i used a very deep dish pie plate pouring the sugar mixture into it. Worked very well. The dough may look thick but it will work out. A staple for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was very dry, even though I added more pineapple juice than than recipe called for. The "cake" portion was like a dry biscuit consistency and very heavy. I prefer the pineapple upside down cake v!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It looked just like the picture--it was beautiful, but it turned out quite dry. I cooked it even less time than mentioned in the recipe, but it was quite crumbly and dry. I may give it another try because it looked so nice. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this today and it is DELICIOUS!!! I did not have Cardamom so I too used Cinnamon in the batter. I did not have Dark Rum so I just used regular Rum which was just fine. My fresh pineapple was not ripe yet so I used a 15 ounce can of drained (save the juice) pineapple slices. For those of you who thought the batter to be on the dry side I added 2 tablespoons of pineapple juice. Although, I think the batter is supposed to be on the dry side in order to absorb all the butter, and juice from the pineapple! This is a GREAT and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States