Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
So I watched the video of this recipe that was posted on the home page, and decided to try it...Had to improvise a bit (apologies to you review purists) used Capt. Morgans spiced rum and had no pineapple juice since I used pre-sliced fresh pineapple in a plastic container and it had a little sponge on the bottom which stole all the juice. Subbed OJ. Subbed a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg for cardamom (personal preference). My skillet was a bit larger than 12 inches, so my batter just barely covered the pineapple and cooked up in about 20-25 minutes. Very tasty - very buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
UNBELIEVABLE!! This cake is absolutely amazing and so easy to make. It was gone in 10 minutes at my house. Very earthy and fulfilling. I'll be making this again and again...It is "The perfect desert"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This is fantastic. I couldn't make it in an iron skillet because I didn't have one - I used a wok and then baked it in a regular pan. I don't think there was substantial merit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is EXCELLENT!! Genius combination of rum and cardamom! Love the fresh pineapple too. And a BIG THANKS, Chef John for providing the written recipe!! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was surprised by this, because I expected the dough to be liquidy, as usual for cake. The dough was actually very thick, almost knead-able, even after I added a splash more of milk to try and loosen it up a little. But, I gamely spread the dough on the fruit-and-sugar in the skillet, and baked it... and it came out DELICIOUS. As a note, I used coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar in the topping, and a third of a cup of agave instead of the half cup of sugar in the cake itself. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Great, reminds me of my mom's cast iron pineapple upside down cake. Only difference I have made in recipe is to use canned unsweetened pineapple slices with a maraschino cherry placed in the center of the slices and Splenda brown sugar blend for brown sugar. Also do not have cardamon and used dash of cinnamon. Great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I cannot get enough of this cake. Followed the recipe to the T, leaving out the cardamom because I didn't have any, and added extra cinnamon. The cake turned out SO perfectly. Took it out of the oven early, because I love my cake soft and dense...it was sublime! I ate too many servings by myself! The caramel offsets the tart of the pineapple, and pairs really well with coffee. I've made it twice so far--it's my absolute favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this cake a second time because it was so good and easy to make. The first time I found the dough to be a touch dry so I used buttermilk instead of milk. I also added a bit more of the pineapple juice to the sauce and took it off the heat shortly after it started to boil. Very good my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
cook first mixture til bubbles - not 5 minutes bake at 400 for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very yummy and so easy to make! I used up some fresh pineapple. Followed the recipe ingredients, added 1/2 tsp vanilla to batter and ommited cardamom(didn't use or have). The batter is very thick and it rose up nicely and was moist, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States