Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
UNBELIEVABLE!! This cake is absolutely amazing and so easy to make. It was gone in 10 minutes at my house. Very earthy and fulfilling. I'll be making this again and again...It is "The perfect desert"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was surprised by this, because I expected the dough to be liquidy, as usual for cake. The dough was actually very thick, almost knead-able, even after I added a splash more of milk to try and loosen it up a little. But, I gamely spread the dough on the fruit-and-sugar in the skillet, and baked it... and it came out DELICIOUS. As a note, I used coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar in the topping, and a third of a cup of agave instead of the half cup of sugar in the cake itself. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
So I watched the video of this recipe that was posted on the home page, and decided to try it...Had to improvise a bit (apologies to you review purists) used Capt. Morgans spiced rum and had no pineapple juice since I used pre-sliced fresh pineapple in a plastic container and it had a little sponge on the bottom which stole all the juice. Subbed OJ. Subbed a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg for cardamom (personal preference). My skillet was a bit larger than 12 inches, so my batter just barely covered the pineapple and cooked up in about 20-25 minutes. Very tasty - very buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Sorry- I thought the cake was dry. There are other recipes I find much more moist and have more flavour. The cardamom did not add the "special" element I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I doubled this, and left out the cardamom and rum... used almond extract in the topping instead, and canned pineapple chunks. The topping is wonderful, glad i watched the video because mine always stuck to the pan. Baked at 400 for 25 minutes in a cast iron skillet, it released perfectly. The cake itself is, a little doughy tasting to me though... it is very light and fluffy, although I would prefer this a bit less done because i like my cake very dense and heavy. Doesnt taste like a boxed cake at all, which is good, but something is just lacking for me. I usually put a can of chunk or shredded pineapple in my cake mix, to make it a bit more dense, so maybe I will try that next time and see if it changes much. If you like a fluffy cake, though, this is perfect for you! Just be sure to mix the dry ingredients together first, makes a definite difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is EXCELLENT!! Genius combination of rum and cardamom! Love the fresh pineapple too. And a BIG THANKS, Chef John for providing the written recipe!! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The pineapple portion was very tasty, but this was one of the most dry upside down pineapple cakes i have ever made/had. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I was looking so forward to trying this recipe I even bought a cast-iron skillet! I don't know if I did something wrong (I can't see that I did), but it was disappointing. It looked pretty, just like the photo, but the cake was dry and didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I thought it was a very good cake but I am not sure why I didn't think it was excellent. I didn't have a cast iron pan that was small enough to flip so I used a regular cake pan. The cake did not stick to the bottom and I had no issues with the directions. Perhaps the cake part needs a little something to make it shine. The topping was great, even if I could only fit 1/4 of my pineapple on one layer (maybe next time I'll do 2 layers of pineapple even if it will be messy). I'd make it again. My son really liked it and I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought the cake part was too dry, dense and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States