Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 pan instead of the cast iron. I made 1 1/2 the amounts shown to make enough. I probably could have completely doubled it really. It tasted VERY good. I really love the way the top(which later becomes the bottom) gets a little crispy as it browns, it reminded me of the top of a blueberry muffin. This is my moms favorite cake and I made it for her birthday. She gave it a connoisseur's approval so it has to be pretty decent. Didn't have the cardamom, and maybe I don't know what I'm missing, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Awesome Recipe! We added cherries, and did not have cardamom (substituted allspice,) and it turned out super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent Martinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The syrup and the pineapple are excellent, but the cake bread is not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was a huge crowd pleaser. I made it for 40+ people in a large stainless steel pan (didn't have the iron skillet). It still worked! the browned butter in the cake was to die for... Thank you Chef John for the video and the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is THE BEST pineapple upside-down cake EVER......no lie I've made this so many times i cant keep up. Fresh pineapple is a must and that brown butter is awesome. Chef John ROCKS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Oh my. This is to die for. The browned butter gives the cake fabulous taste. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made this cake it's good but not amazing. Found the cake was the texture of a tea biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this cake a second time because it was so good and easy to make. The first time I found the dough to be a touch dry so I used buttermilk instead of milk. I also added a bit more of the pineapple juice to the sauce and took it off the heat shortly after it started to boil. Very good my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I cannot get enough of this cake. Followed the recipe to the T, leaving out the cardamom because I didn't have any, and added extra cinnamon. The cake turned out SO perfectly. Took it out of the oven early, because I love my cake soft and dense...it was sublime! I ate too many servings by myself! The caramel offsets the tart of the pineapple, and pairs really well with coffee. I've made it twice so far--it's my absolute favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States