Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The syrup and the pineapple are excellent, but the cake bread is not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was a huge crowd pleaser. I made it for 40+ people in a large stainless steel pan (didn't have the iron skillet). It still worked! the browned butter in the cake was to die for... Thank you Chef John for the video and the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is THE BEST pineapple upside-down cake EVER......no lie I've made this so many times i cant keep up. Fresh pineapple is a must and that brown butter is awesome. Chef John ROCKS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Oh my. This is to die for. The browned butter gives the cake fabulous taste. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made this cake it's good but not amazing. Found the cake was the texture of a tea biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this cake a second time because it was so good and easy to make. The first time I found the dough to be a touch dry so I used buttermilk instead of milk. I also added a bit more of the pineapple juice to the sauce and took it off the heat shortly after it started to boil. Very good my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I cannot get enough of this cake. Followed the recipe to the T, leaving out the cardamom because I didn't have any, and added extra cinnamon. The cake turned out SO perfectly. Took it out of the oven early, because I love my cake soft and dense...it was sublime! I ate too many servings by myself! The caramel offsets the tart of the pineapple, and pairs really well with coffee. I've made it twice so far--it's my absolute favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The upside-down pineapple portion was fantastic, but the cake portion left something to be desired. I baked it for 5 minutes less than the minimal baking time and it was overdone. I'd love to try this again with a different cake on the bottom. Overall it was still a good dessert as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Good flavor, but much too dry. If I ever try this again I'll add a lot more juice in the beginning - maybe 1/2cup? Or even perhaps a full 1cup of juice... I'd just have to try it. When you flip there isn't any hot liquid to soak into the cake. The best part is the edge of the cake where it caramelized with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States