Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this today and it is DELICIOUS!!! I did not have Cardamom so I too used Cinnamon in the batter. I did not have Dark Rum so I just used regular Rum which was just fine. My fresh pineapple was not ripe yet so I used a 15 ounce can of drained (save the juice) pineapple slices. For those of you who thought the batter to be on the dry side I added 2 tablespoons of pineapple juice. Although, I think the batter is supposed to be on the dry side in order to absorb all the butter, and juice from the pineapple! This is a GREAT and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious of course. Sometimes I make this substituting the pineapple for peaches. Peach Upside Down cake is also delish using this recipe. Next I'll try ... apple upside down cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela TJ
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I would recommend doubling the cake batter part of this recipe, as you will want more, if you are like me. (still add only the 1/2 cup melted butter to that batter though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
AMAZING !!! The batter was a little thick so I added a jar of baby applesauce (that's what I had on hand)and a 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. I did not have rum so I substituted Rum flavor instead. For more flavor I added 2 tsp. cinnamon a dash of nutmeg and allspice (this added lots of FLAVOR which I love) This is so SIMPLE and SO easy. I would recommend making this. Those who had problems with this recipe I suggest making a couple adjustments and trying again. That is what cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This cake is fabulous! I added 1/3 cup pineapple juice and 1/3 cup crushed pineapples to the cake batter because it was too thick to even scoop out of my bowl. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't wait to taste it once I smelled the pineapple from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Awesome. I didn't have enough brown sugar, but used a cane sugar and honey substitute which blended extremely well with all the other flavors. the only thing I was concerned about was the amount of batter. I had a REALLY hard time getting it to cover all of the pineapple and when it did I had bits of pineapple sticking through. Next time, I'm definitely going to make a little bit more batter next time. Other than that, when all was said and done, it's a super delicious recipe that I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 pan instead of the cast iron. I made 1 1/2 the amounts shown to make enough. I probably could have completely doubled it really. It tasted VERY good. I really love the way the top(which later becomes the bottom) gets a little crispy as it browns, it reminded me of the top of a blueberry muffin. This is my moms favorite cake and I made it for her birthday. She gave it a connoisseur's approval so it has to be pretty decent. Didn't have the cardamom, and maybe I don't know what I'm missing, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Awesome Recipe! We added cherries, and did not have cardamom (substituted allspice,) and it turned out super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincentreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The syrup and the pineapple are excellent, but the cake bread is not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States