Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this was very dry, even though I added more pineapple juice than than recipe called for. The "cake" portion was like a dry biscuit consistency and very heavy. I prefer the pineapple upside down cake v!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
It looked just like the picture--it was beautiful, but it turned out quite dry. I cooked it even less time than mentioned in the recipe, but it was quite crumbly and dry. I may give it another try because it looked so nice. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this today and it is DELICIOUS!!! I did not have Cardamom so I too used Cinnamon in the batter. I did not have Dark Rum so I just used regular Rum which was just fine. My fresh pineapple was not ripe yet so I used a 15 ounce can of drained (save the juice) pineapple slices. For those of you who thought the batter to be on the dry side I added 2 tablespoons of pineapple juice. Although, I think the batter is supposed to be on the dry side in order to absorb all the butter, and juice from the pineapple! This is a GREAT and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious of course. Sometimes I make this substituting the pineapple for peaches. Peach Upside Down cake is also delish using this recipe. Next I'll try ... apple upside down cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela TJ
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I would recommend doubling the cake batter part of this recipe, as you will want more, if you are like me. (still add only the 1/2 cup melted butter to that batter though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
AMAZING !!! The batter was a little thick so I added a jar of baby applesauce (that's what I had on hand)and a 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. I did not have rum so I substituted Rum flavor instead. For more flavor I added 2 tsp. cinnamon a dash of nutmeg and allspice (this added lots of FLAVOR which I love) This is so SIMPLE and SO easy. I would recommend making this. Those who had problems with this recipe I suggest making a couple adjustments and trying again. That is what cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This cake is fabulous! I added 1/3 cup pineapple juice and 1/3 cup crushed pineapples to the cake batter because it was too thick to even scoop out of my bowl. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T and couldn't wait to taste it once I smelled the pineapple from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Awesome. I didn't have enough brown sugar, but used a cane sugar and honey substitute which blended extremely well with all the other flavors. the only thing I was concerned about was the amount of batter. I had a REALLY hard time getting it to cover all of the pineapple and when it did I had bits of pineapple sticking through. Next time, I'm definitely going to make a little bit more batter next time. Other than that, when all was said and done, it's a super delicious recipe that I will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 pan instead of the cast iron. I made 1 1/2 the amounts shown to make enough. I probably could have completely doubled it really. It tasted VERY good. I really love the way the top(which later becomes the bottom) gets a little crispy as it browns, it reminded me of the top of a blueberry muffin. This is my moms favorite cake and I made it for her birthday. She gave it a connoisseur's approval so it has to be pretty decent. Didn't have the cardamom, and maybe I don't know what I'm missing, but it was fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States