Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The cake came out ok but I think it ridiculous to try turning a cast iron skillet. I did once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howard, Ohio, USA
Photo by Melda
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Thank you Chef John! I took the advice of a few who said it was dry and added a few tablespoons of pineapple juice to the batter. I also used canned pineapple instead of fresh. It took a long time for my butter to brown....so i turned the heat up being sure not to burn it. I also used a slightly smaller cast iron skillet....mine is only 9" at the bottom and 10 1/2" at the top. The cake part was nice because it was not overly sweet. It was difficult to find a pineapple upside down cake that did not call for a disgusting boxed cake mix. Yuck. This tasted like real home cooking. Grandparents, and children devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My cake was very heavy and extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
this was awesome! relatively easy. tasty, moist, and not too sweet! my husband has asked for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good flavor , easy to do but a bit dry. I felt like I should make extra brown sugar butter too to drizzle on top after slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Pineapple and brown sugar caramel is to die for, although I wouldn't have minded a touch more rum!! Easy release if your skillet is well seasoned and don't wait the full 10 minutes. Turn out a few minutes after removing from oven. Also I agree with the other reviewers....cake seemed a bit dry and not the most flavorful but definitely good! I would add pineapple juice or more milk....or just find a better batter recipe. Sorry I would have add added a photo since it is such a pretty cake...but we already ate 2 slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Man, I was so excited to make this. What a giant fail and I followed recipe exactly. I don't normally do that but I wanted to rate this by following directions/ingredients. The pineapple topping stuff stuck to cast iron (highly seasoned one)after the 10 minutes cool time and the entire cake was a huge mess. Cake part was definitely like a dry biscuit...nothing like cake. Sorry, didn't work for me and what a waste. Boo! First Chef John flop...bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Unbelievable. Absolutely the best cake in the whole world- the brown butter is such an excellent addition. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by butterican26
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was really easy. I did not have a 12-inch pan so I used a 9 inch one. It turned out just fine. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is simply amazing. I did not have an oven safe skillet for this so i used a very deep dish pie plate pouring the sugar mixture into it. Worked very well. The dough may look thick but it will work out. A staple for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States