Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by n00dles
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Made it today. Came out great. Moist and tasty. Only change I've made is used cinnamon. Also will increase brown sugar and butter layer a bit next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this cake for my husband's birthday 3 years ago and he has requested it for his birthday ever since! This cake is sweet, tangy, fresh, and flavorful! I like that this is different from the typical overly sweet and artificial pineapple upside cake using canned pineapple and cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It was pretty good however there was not a lot of juicy glaze involved...maybe if I doubled the glaze it would have been perfect....My father-in-law and a 10 year old niece loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious. I'll be making this one of my favorite go to desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is my favourite pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Nephin-Webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
DRY!!!!! This was not the gooey, buttery cake I love and remember from childhood. The topping was delicious, but the cake was dry, crumbly, and had very little pineapple (or any other) flavor. I have lost my mother's recipe and will have to keep experimenting; this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe for "Pineapple Upside-down Cake"... I'm surprised at some of the low reviews or those that said dry. I admit I used canned and maybe that's where the extra moisture came from but I'm wondering if some with problems with this recipe were from pineapple that wasn't ripe/juicy enough. I haven't had the "rum" since I don't usually have alcohol on hand but I've used rum extract (1/2 tsp) along with enough pineapple juice to equal a tablespoon... The brown butter flavor is what really sets this off along with the cardommon... I'm an experienced baker who know's what she likes so I used maraschino cherries in mine as well.. :) Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Emerald alexia
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Looks great! Added some more milk and I think it was a good idea. Very moist and perfect looking. With blueberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've made this three times. It's better than Cats. I want to make it again and again...If you had a hard time with sticking, you probably didn't fully cover the bottom with pineapples, I had a little sticking this last time and that was the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States