Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
DRY!!!!! This was not the gooey, buttery cake I love and remember from childhood. The topping was delicious, but the cake was dry, crumbly, and had very little pineapple (or any other) flavor. I have lost my mother's recipe and will have to keep experimenting; this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe for "Pineapple Upside-down Cake"... I'm surprised at some of the low reviews or those that said dry. I admit I used canned and maybe that's where the extra moisture came from but I'm wondering if some with problems with this recipe were from pineapple that wasn't ripe/juicy enough. I haven't had the "rum" since I don't usually have alcohol on hand but I've used rum extract (1/2 tsp) along with enough pineapple juice to equal a tablespoon... The brown butter flavor is what really sets this off along with the cardommon... I'm an experienced baker who know's what she likes so I used maraschino cherries in mine as well.. :) Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Emerald alexia
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Looks great! Added some more milk and I think it was a good idea. Very moist and perfect looking. With blueberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've made this three times. It's better than Cats. I want to make it again and again...If you had a hard time with sticking, you probably didn't fully cover the bottom with pineapples, I had a little sticking this last time and that was the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was not a hit in my household, Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was awesome, I did make some changes after reading all the reviews. I added more butter to the cake batter and in the brown sugar mixture. I also soaked dried tart cherries in the rum and put them around the pineapple chunks. When I make it again and I definitely will, I will double the cake batter and put more rum soaked cherries on it. Truly amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The cake came out ok but I think it ridiculous to try turning a cast iron skillet. I did once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howard, Ohio, USA
Photo by Melda
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Thank you Chef John! I took the advice of a few who said it was dry and added a few tablespoons of pineapple juice to the batter. I also used canned pineapple instead of fresh. It took a long time for my butter to brown....so i turned the heat up being sure not to burn it. I also used a slightly smaller cast iron skillet....mine is only 9" at the bottom and 10 1/2" at the top. The cake part was nice because it was not overly sweet. It was difficult to find a pineapple upside down cake that did not call for a disgusting boxed cake mix. Yuck. This tasted like real home cooking. Grandparents, and children devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My cake was very heavy and extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States