Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this cake for my husband's birthday 3 years ago and he has requested it for his birthday ever since! This cake is sweet, tangy, fresh, and flavorful! I like that this is different from the typical overly sweet and artificial pineapple upside cake using canned pineapple and cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It was pretty good however there was not a lot of juicy glaze involved...maybe if I doubled the glaze it would have been perfect....My father-in-law and a 10 year old niece loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious. I'll be making this one of my favorite go to desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is my favourite pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Nephin-Webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
DRY!!!!! This was not the gooey, buttery cake I love and remember from childhood. The topping was delicious, but the cake was dry, crumbly, and had very little pineapple (or any other) flavor. I have lost my mother's recipe and will have to keep experimenting; this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe for "Pineapple Upside-down Cake"... I'm surprised at some of the low reviews or those that said dry. I admit I used canned and maybe that's where the extra moisture came from but I'm wondering if some with problems with this recipe were from pineapple that wasn't ripe/juicy enough. I haven't had the "rum" since I don't usually have alcohol on hand but I've used rum extract (1/2 tsp) along with enough pineapple juice to equal a tablespoon... The brown butter flavor is what really sets this off along with the cardommon... I'm an experienced baker who know's what she likes so I used maraschino cherries in mine as well.. :) Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Emerald alexia
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Looks great! Added some more milk and I think it was a good idea. Very moist and perfect looking. With blueberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I've made this three times. It's better than Cats. I want to make it again and again...If you had a hard time with sticking, you probably didn't fully cover the bottom with pineapples, I had a little sticking this last time and that was the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was not a hit in my household, Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States