Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We just did 3 18 lb standing rib roasts for a catering gig and people couldn't say enough positive things about this. Used my secret blend of spices but followed roasting directions and was the most tender, moist, evenly coked medium rare prime I have done in ages. Was a little afraid that wouldn't work with roasts this size, but a dream! Thanks, Chef John, you saved my bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have tried this recipe three times already, and each time it comes out perfectly. I try to wait until prime rib goes on sale so that way I don't spend a whole lot. I'm going to try making this for my parents during Christmas (mainly my Daddy). So we'll see how they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Best prime rib ever. I'll never prepare it another way. I suggest that you don't have side dishes that need to cook in the oven as the roast will cool too much if left to sit out. It was fine for baking rolls for 10-12 minutes but I wouldn't cook anything much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Amazing! I used a boneless roast but the color and flavor was perfect. Next time I might cut back on the salt. It was great and very flavorful. The video was a great primer on how to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ying
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Followed the instructions in the video exactly and it came out nice and juicy! Would difinately cook it this way, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ying

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I know this is a culinary no-no, but we don't link pink meat, so while I partially use this method, I didn't do it exactly as Chef John suggests. I had a 4 lb boneless rib roast, which I let sit out at room temp for 4 hours. While the meat was coming to room temp I also let my butter sit out to soften. I placed the butter in a small bowl, added about 1 Tbsp of extra virgin olive oil, 4 tsp of coarse kosher salt, 2 tsp freshly ground black pepper, 6 minced garlic cloves, and 2 tsp of thyme. (We don't care for Herbs de Provence.) I mixed this up with a fork then slathered the meat all over with it. I roasted the meat for 20 minutes at 500 degrees to get a nice crust, then I reduced the oven temp to 325 and continued roasting for another two hours. This gave us meat which was almost well done. It was still absolutely delicious this way, and perfectly flavored and juicy. Served with some twice baked potatoes and green beans. Perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I use this every Christmas Eve! Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The 5 minute rule is excellent. My prime rib came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The most fool proof prime rib recipe I have ever used. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEBASMUR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
it was amazing..the only faux pas was not letting roast rest for 4 hours before (didn't find the recipe until too late..)Needed a bit more cooking time because of that. Will do it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States