Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Super easy and just a perfect roast every time. Thank you Chef John keep the video coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My husband said he loved his prime rib. He likes it more rare. The inside is bright pink/red. The outside is done to my liking. I used exact method he said except I didn't salt because the salt will pull the juices out of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was fantastic..........follow the recipe to a "T" And the Beef Au Jus. I don't eat meat......but the 5 I fed complimented me all night! Its a mathematical Keeper!!! Thank You Chef John!! Any other secrets you'd care to share?? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did a 6.6 lbs Prime Rib and let me tell you how awesome it was. When I cut the bones off it it was flowing with juices. I carved the ends off and revealed a beautiful med rare Prime Rib. I wanted to test this method before I do our Christmas Prime Rib. I now know that I am safe making it for my family. Thanks John! And making your oven hold heat is easy: cover the vent with foil or tape after you turn the heat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
IT WAS PERFECT!!!! The 8.32 prime rib I got for Thanksgiving this year was crazy expensive, so I HAD to get it right. Chef John's equation worked perfectly. Thanks for making me love math, Chef John! We ate that thing for four days. Four heavenly days. Oh, I only had fresh thyme, not the fancy French herbs. Made a compound butter with it and it worked like a charm. A yummy, yummy, charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Unreal. Spot on fool-proof method to make the best meal you'll ever eat. After I rubbed down the roast with the herbs I draped 3 or 4 pieces of bacon over the roast before I put it in the oven. Follow cooking times shown. AMAZING RESULTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have ruined more expensive roasts than you can imagine until I found this recipe! My family and friends beg me to serve this! It's easy, and comes out perfectly pink and moist every time. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
The best possible way to cook Prime Rib or Standing Rib Roast. I learned this technique about 40 years ago from my mother. It has been a success for her, me, and my 32 y. o. Daughter for many years and on numerous occasions. You can cook any size roast in this manner by baking it with the heat on for 5 (five) minutes per pound. Then leave the roast in the unopened oven for just 2 hours. I've cooked up to a 10 pound roast using this method. The key is definitely getting the roast up to room temperature before it's roasted. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Hi Chef John, I followed your Prime Rib recipe to a "T" had my brother and sister-law for dinner (tough critics)and they were so impressed with my cooking skills thanks to you! I must say I'm a pretty good cook most of the time but not always confident of what I'm doing and with your help made me feel I can do this. You were right on the money! The 5lb Prime Rib(whoa expensive piece of meat didnt want to screw it up)was perfection and the Au Jus came out awesome it also was the star of the meal...all I kept hearing from my guests and my hubby was deeeeeelicious! I finished the meal off with your recipe for Pumpkin Cheesecake....it came out perfect and more rave reviews from my guests. You make things so easy to follow you are definetly my go to for recipe ideas when I need to make a tried and true and star studded meal. Love You Chef thanks so much. Oh and I love your videos your so entertaining and your voice soothing lol. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Chef John, your recipe made me a legend! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellasjules
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States