Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I don't know if it was my oven, my cut, or something else, but other than the outer edges, this thing was tough as nails and lacked flavor. It came out medium rare, but the fat didn't marble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made it twice and came out perfect both times. Follow the Chef's directions and DON'T OPEN THE OVEN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Republic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just finished this. What a recipe! Super easy and soooooo flavorful! No herbs de provence so I used thyme and sage in the butter. It can't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Tried this recipe for my Christmas family dinner. It was off the hook. They loved it. Thank you for the help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have now cooked two prime ribs this way. They were different weights, but both came out absolutely perfect. I have an electric range that has a self cleaning feature, so, I cook the meat 5 min. per lb. @ 500F.Then, I turn off the oven, but pull the locking lever on the door (Normally used for self cleaning) and let it sit for 2 hrs. No heat loss, works perfect! By the way, why does the cooking time total 2hrs. and 20 mins. on your example, but you show 6 hrs. and 30 mins. on your total cooking time at the end? It says no need for resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
USED THIS RECIPE LAST YEAR FOR CHRISTMAS DINNER AND MY PRIME RIB CAME OUT PERFECTLY. GONNA USE IT AGAIN THIS YEAR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Yes, this is the perfect roast. Of course I think all of Chef John's recipes turn out great. The secret is not to open the door for the allotted two hours. Have also tried it with sirloin tip. Shygal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We just did 3 18 lb standing rib roasts for a catering gig and people couldn't say enough positive things about this. Used my secret blend of spices but followed roasting directions and was the most tender, moist, evenly coked medium rare prime I have done in ages. Was a little afraid that wouldn't work with roasts this size, but a dream! Thanks, Chef John, you saved my bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have tried this recipe three times already, and each time it comes out perfectly. I try to wait until prime rib goes on sale so that way I don't spend a whole lot. I'm going to try making this for my parents during Christmas (mainly my Daddy). So we'll see how they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Best prime rib ever. I'll never prepare it another way. I suggest that you don't have side dishes that need to cook in the oven as the roast will cool too much if left to sit out. It was fine for baking rolls for 10-12 minutes but I wouldn't cook anything much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States