Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This method of cooking prime rib is the bomb! You rock Chef John. I bought a 4 rib 8.30 pound rib roast at about 124.00 dollars total. I was super skeptical about that big of a roast working with this method. I never had the courage to try and cook one before now and I am so glad I trusted Chef Johns recommendation on how to cook the perfectly pink prime rib! My house was filled with compliments and the 8.30 pound roast turned out PERFECT! Thank you Chef John! I served this with your twice baked potatoes and I had one happy family on my hands at Christmas Dinner! awesome! Keep those great recipes coming Chef John! You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was scared to death but it worked. I will do this every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Used this recipe for Christmas dinner 2013. Always scary to use a new recipe with such an expensive piece of meat, but this was, by far, the best prime rib I've ever made. Definitely 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Followed the directions exactly for a 7 pound prime rib (35 minutes at 500 degrees, then 2 hours in the over) and it came out perfectly. I will use this recipe for prime rib from now on. I've tried packing prime rib in a coat of kosher salt (messy and time consuming)as well as a variety of other regular roasting methods and this method is the easiest and the prime rib was delicious. No need for any other recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My oven probably isn't insulated enough. My roast was definitely at room temp, so that wasn't the problem. The meat was a little on the rare side. But the worst part it was room temperature when served! The butter burned in the oven and created, as others have said, a great deal of smoke. I will not use this recipe again. But I realize that maybe with a better oven and warmer kitchen the outcome would probably have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the 4th prime rib I have cooked and I have to say, this method is by far the easiest and best. It was perfectly medium rare with an awesome crust. The only change I made was to season the meat the night before with sea salt, cracked black pepper and garlic powder. I then rubbed it with butter and added more kosher salt and pepper since I really like the outer crust. Like everyone says, the key is to make sure you bring it to room temperature before you cook it. I do have to admit, I was nervous about cutting into it after letting it rest, worried it was going to be too rare...my husband likes his a bit more medium than rare so I gave him the end piece. He told me (jokingly) that if I made it any other way, he was going to give me a black eye! I think it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was SO EASY and SO DELICIOUS!! This is absolutely the easiest best prime rib I have ever had! It is completely idiot proof... If you follow the directions. Thank you for posting this as my family had a spectacular Christmas dinner because of it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this recipe for tonight's Christmas dinner. Followed it exactly. Went to take it out of the oven and it's still completely raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Worked like a charm as written with an 8 pound roast. The crust was just heavenly; everyone was cutting little bits of the crunchy crust to have with each bite. I used a thermometer to guarantee a medium rare roast because who wants to guess with a $100 roast? I used the Beef Au Jus recipe, also from Chef John and everyone loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was the first time I have cooked a prime rib and I followed this recipe exactly as it said. It was perfect. Everyone loved it. I will always use this recipe in the future when cooking prime rib. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States