Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Chef Johh, you have a perfect formula on the cook time and minutes to rest in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Best home prepared prime rib recipe I've used. Absolutely Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe. I have used it several times and it comes out great. I find that mine comes out closer to medium than a shade under medium rare by using the times listed.I may be using a thinner cut prime rib or maybe my oven thermostat is off a bit. I usually cut the time in the oven while it's off by 4-5 minutes and it works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Much to my father-in-law's delight, I made this on New Year's Eve. It was dee-lish. I bought the roast too late to let it come to room temperature first, and my roast was between 7 and 8 pounds. I added 5 minutes to the 500-degree cook time to try to compensate, but it was still a bit too rare when I pulled it out, and so we all had another glass of champagne and it went back in the oven with a center cut for 40 minutes more at 425. The house smelled amazing, and we almost ate the whole darn thing that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
You can't go wrong with this recipe, followed it exactly, served for Christmas... Excellent.. OMG the flavor was to die for..Even my 2 teenage grand daughters asked for seconds..This is a keeper and the only way I will make Prime Rib from now on. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Troemel
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Followed the recipe, had amazing results! I used a remote thermometer and the recipe was spot on. Added whole garlic for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Has to be 5 stars: easy to make, reliable, and extremely tasty recipe. The seasoning was fantastic (herbs de provence) on the prime roast. I actually ate the ribs after removing them (see video) and they are just fantastic. One note to share for folks trying - pay attention to the shape of the roast. If the roast is either long or tall, you will want to let it sit less time in the oven and monitor internal temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly for Christmas Eve dinner and it was PERFECT! Family loved it and everyone wanted to know how we cooked it! It's great knowing that I don't have to stand by the oven trying to get the meat done just right, one less concern! Thank you! Maggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
1st prime rib dinner EVER, got great, today reading reviews ,yes my smoke detector went off,and yes, next time will add 5mins @ 500 degree in the time calculation, some of guests like a bit more done. But SO Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States