Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was skeptical with the ease of the directions but make many of Chef John's recipes so gave it a whirl. Being inquisitive I used a remotely placed meat thermometer into the prime rib and monitored it the entire time. As Chef John promised the internal temperature began to rise after about twenty minutes and at the two hour mark was 137 degrees. Cut open, a perfect medium rare, pink and juicy. Everyone loved it and it is now my only Prime Rib recipe! As a side note I also used his Au Jus recipe without the flour and it was amazing as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Chavez
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Ok I had a 20.14 lb prime rib big one I was so worried. I followed the receipt along with the seasoning and cook time, yes had to do some math to figure it out 1hr and 30min in the oven at 500° shut it off and did not open till 2 hrs 30 min, yes house filled up with smoke had to disable the fire alarms. Prime rib came out perfect so delicious and medium rare. Rave reviews I had to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This has become a Christmas tradition for our family, and it never disappoints! I follow the directions as written, then serve with Chef John's Au Jus, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, and roasted asparagus. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slocomb, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonifay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I cooked a 16 pound roast for Christmas EXACTLY as Chef John said....500 for 1:15 mins then turned the oven off. I used an internal thermometer and let it go until 130 Internal temp....oh my it was absolutely perfect. Thank you! My Au Jus was not as good but my creamy horseradish saved me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huge
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Didn't change a thing. This was perfectly cooked and seasoned. My wife and 13 year old son were a bit wary about it being too rare, but one bite from the carving instantly won them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Chef John never fails! Every recipe I have used of his has always been spectacular, this one included! I followed the recipe to the tee, and it was the best Prime Rib, ever! Cooking a 15.25 Prime Rib Roast, I was afraid it wouldn't be cooked enough, but it was perfect! My entire family loved it! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is an AMAZING recipe! I was a little nervous to make our Christmas meat this way but we did and it was the best prime rib we've ever made - by far (including the kosher method and the herb rub - both of those were good but not like this). I won't ever do it any other way. It was so easy! We followed the recipe exactly and cooked the 6 lb. roast for 30 minutes. We put a chair a few inches away and in front of the oven (with a note on it that said DO NOT OPEN!!!) so there weren't any inadvertent oven openings. Besides oven problems, I wonder if some of the reviewers who didn't like this method may have purchased a roast that was too lean. The butcher recommended that I purchase one of the roasts that had a little more marbled fat throughout. It was so flavorful. Highly recommended recipe! Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Thanks so much Chef John for this recipe! I fixed an 11.5 lb. prime rib roast for Christmas dinner and it turned out absolutely PERFECT! Using a previous comment, I cleaned the oven the day prior and followed the directions exactly as written. The meat was medium rare to a perfect rare in the very middle and the taste was out of this world. I changed the spice combo to some of our favorite herbs, sweet basil, thyme, and a touch of rosemary. Then I mixed those with the fresh ground pepper & room temp. butter. Afterwards, I liberally sprinkled the kosher salt, as chef John wrote. UMMMMM, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I just want to say, THANK YOU CHEF JOHN!I tried this recipe yesterday for my families Christmas dinner! If I could I would give you 10 stars! the taste was amazing and it was cooked to perfection. I have tried so many of your recipes and will continue to do so in the future. You have never failed me yet with any of them! Your recipe for Au Jus was also fantastic! My whole family raved about the flavor and perfection to which the meat and gravy was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Despite being skeptical, I made this for Christmas Dinner. I put a rub of butter and Montreal Steaak Seasoning instead of Herbs de Provance. 4.5 roast, 22 minutes at 500, then l hr and 40 minutes until the therm. read 130. I took it out then as I didn't want to overcook it. It was perfect. I had enough drippings to make a thin gravy. I let it sit out overnight and the internal temperature was 63. I put bunjie cords on the oven door so I didn't open it by mistake. It was amazing to me that the meat actually cooked with the oven off. It was beautifully pink. I will use this recipe from now on. I can always rely on a recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States